Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Name and Title Contact Information
Manal AbdelwahabManal Abdelwahab
Instructor
Ph.D., 2004 - University of Central Florida
Physics Education
225-578-8690
manal@lsu.edu
343-A Nicholson
Philip AdamsPhilip Adams
Professor
Ph.D., 1986 - Rutgers University
Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-6847
adams@phys.lsu.edu
210-C Nicholson
Ivan AgulloIvan Agullo
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2009 - University of Valencia
Gravity Theory
225-578-0016
agullo@lsu.edu
241-B Nicholson
JC BlackmonJeffrey Blackmon
Russell B. Long Professor
Ph.D., 1994 - University of North Carolina
Experimental Nuclear Physics
225-578-7283
blackmon@phys.lsu.edu
221-C Nicholson

BoyajianTabetha Boyajian
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2009 - Georgia State University
Astronomy & Astrophysics

225-578-1161
boyajian@lsu.edu
261-A Nicholson

 

Dana BrowneDana Browne
Professor, Department Associate Chair
Ph.D., 1982 - Stanford University
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 
225-578-6843
phowne@lsu.edu
219 Nicholson 
Lai-Him ChanLai-Him Chan
Professor Emeritus of Physics
Ph.D., 1966 - Harvard University
Particle and Quantum Field Theory
225-578-6858
chan@phys.lsu.edu
337 Nicholson
Jeffery ChancellorJeffery Chancellor
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2018 - Texas A&M
Applied Physics
225-578-6053
jchancellor1@lsu.edu
437 Nicholson

ChatzopoulousManos Chatzopoulos
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2013 - University of Texas at Austin
Theoretical Astrophysics

225-578-2907
chatzopoulos@phys.lsu.edu
243-A Nicholson

Michael CherryMichael Cherry
Roy P. Daniels Professor of Physics
Ph.D., 1978 - University of Chicago
High Energy Astrophysics
225-578-8591
cherry@phys.lsu.edu
343-D Nicholson
Geoffrey ClaytonGeoffrey Clayton
Ball Family Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., 1983 - University of Toronto
Astronomy and Astrophysics
225-578-8275
gclayton@phys.lsu.edu
233-A Nicholson
Thomas CorbittThomas Corbitt
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Experimental Gravitational Wave Physics
225-578-4779
tcorbitt@phys.lsu.edu
271-C Nicholson
Catherine DeibelCatherine Deibel
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - Yale University
Experimental Nuclear Physics
225-578-4950
deibel@phys.lsu.edu
218-B Nicholson
DeyJoyoni Dey
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.,1999 - Carnegie Mellon University
Medical Imaging, Image Reconstruction and System Design
225-578-4289
deyj@lsu.edu
459-A Nicholson
PeterDienerPeter Diener
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - University of Copenhagen
General Relativity and Gravitation

225-578-6880
diener@cct.lsu.edu
1079 Digital Media Center

241A Nicholson

John DiTusaJohn DiTusa
Professor, Department Chair
Ph.D., 1992 - Cornell University
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-2606
ditusa@phys.lsu.edu
202 K Nicholson
Jonathan DowlingJonathan Dowling
Professor and Hearne Chair of Theoretical Physics
Ph.D., 1988 - University of Colorado-Boulder
Quantum Science and Technologies
225-578-0887
jdowling@phys.lsu.edu
453 Nicholson
Jerry DraayerJerry Draayer
Roy P. Daniels Professor
Ph.D., 1968 - Iowa State University
Nuclear Theory/Computational Physics
225-578-6844
draayer@phys.lsu.edu
221-E Nicholson
Juhan FrankJuhan Frank
Professor
Ph.D., 1978 - University of Cambridge, England
Astronomy & Astrophysics
225-578-6845
frank@phys.lsu.edu
251 Nicholson
Mette GaardeMette Gaarde
Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Theoretical Atomic and Optical Physics
225-578-0889
gaarde@phys.lsu.edu
215-B Nicholson
giaimeJoseph Giaime
Professor
Ph.D., 1995 - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Experimental General Relativity
225-578-5794
giaime@phys.lsu.edu
271-A Nicholson
GonzalezGabriela González
Professor
Ph.D., 1995 - Syracuse University
Experimental General Relativity
225-578-0468
gonzalez@lsu.edu
271-B Nicholson
T. Gregory GuzikT. Gregory Guzik
Professor
Ph.D., 1980 - University of Chicago
Particle Astrophysics
225-578-8597
guzik@phunds.phys.lsu.edu
359-C Nicholson
William HamiltonWilliam Hamilton
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1963 - Stanford University
Experimental General Relativity and Low Temperature Physics

hamilton@phys.lsu.edu
281 Nicholson
Kenneth HogstromKenneth Hogstrom
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1976 - Rice University
Medical and Health Physics/Radiation Physics

225-578-0590
hogstrom@lsu.edu
459D Nicholson
HynesRobert Hynes
Professor
Ph.D., 1999 - The Open University
Multiwavelength Observational Astronomy
225-578-7459
hynes@phys.lsu.edu
247-A Nicholson 
Rongyin JinRongying Jin
Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - ETH (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich)
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science
225-578-0028
rjin@phys.lsu.edu
229-B Nicholson
Warren JohnsonWarren Johnson
Professor
Ph.D., 1974 - Rutgers University
Experimental Low Temperature Physics

225-578- 5854
225-578-5860
wjohns7@lsu.edu
279 Nicholson 

Richard KurtzRichard Kurtz
Professor, Director of CAMD
Ph.D., 1983 - Yale University
Experimental Solid State Physics
225-578-4029
rlkurtz@lsu.edu
217-C Nicholson
Thomas KutterThomas Kutter
Professor
Ph.D., 1999 - The University of Heidelberg
Experimental High Energy Physics
225-578-8310
kutter@phys.lsu.edu
220-C Nicholson
Arlo LandlotArlo Landolt
Ball Family Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1962 - Indiana University
Astronomy
225-578-6795
landolt@phys.lsu.edu
259-A Nicholson
Kristina LauneyKristina Launey
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2003 - Louisiana State University
Theoretical Nuclear Physics and Astrophysics
225-578-0351
kristina@phys.lsu.edu
275 Nicholson
Lee Hwang Lee
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Texas A&M University
Quantum Optics/Quantum Information Processing
 225-578-2365
hwlee@phys.lsu.edu
451 Nicholson
Magana-LoaizaOmar Magana-Loaiza
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2016 - University of Rochester
Optical Physics, Quantum Optics, and Quantum Information Science

225-578-5851
maganaloaiza@lsu.edu
269 Nicholson

MarleyScott Marley
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2012 - Western Michigan University
Experimental Nuclear Physics
225-578-8278
smarley@lsu.edu
224 Nicholson
J. MatthewsJames Matthews
Professor
Ph.D., 1984 - University of Wisconsin-Madison
Experimental Astrophysics and Particle Physics
225-578-8598
matthews@phys.lsu.edu
347 Nicholson
Kip MatthewsKenneth "Kip" Matthews
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - The University of Chicago
Medical Imaging Physics
225-578-2740
kipmatth@lsu.edu
459-B Nicholson
McElginWilliam McElgin
Instructor
Ph.D., 2007 - University of Chicago
Physics Education
225-578-6912
mcelgin@lsu.edu
368 Nicholson
Dalgis MesaDalgis Mesa
Instructor
Ph.D., 2014 - Louisiana State University
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-8690
dmesa1@lsu.edu
343-A Nicholson
William MetcalfWilliam Metcalf
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1974 - California Institute of Technology
Experimental High Energy Physics
225-578-8312
metcalf@phys.lsu.edu
218-A Nicholson
MorenoJuana Moreno
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - Rutgers University
Computational Material Science
225-578-7586
moreno@phys.lsu.edu
293 Nicholson
newhauserWayne Newhauser
Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of Medical Physics
Ph.D., 1995 - University of Wisconsin
Medical and Health Physics/Radiation Physics
225-578-2762
newhauser@lsu.edu
439-B Nicholson
OconnellRobert O'Connell
Boyd Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1962 - University of Notre Dame
Quantum Optics, Atomic Physics, Stochastic Physics, General Relativity
225-578-6848
oconnell@phys.lsu.edu
225 Nicholson 

ParksRobert Parks
Instructor
Ph.D., 2014 - Georgia State University
Astronomy and Astrophysics, Astronomy Education

 

 

225-578-6675
parks1@lsu.edu
361 Nicholson

 

PennyMatthew Penny
Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., 2011 - University of Manchester
Astronomy and Astrophysics

 

225-578-7711
penny1@lsu.edu
261-B Nicholson Hall

 

plummerWard Plummer
Boyd Professor
Ph.D., 1968 - Cornell University
Experimental Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
225-578-3300
wplummer@phys.lsu.edu
229-C Nicholson
pullinJorge Pullin
Professor and Hearne Chair of Theoretical Physics
Ph.D., 1988 - Instituto Balseiro, Argentina
General Relativity and Quantum Gravity
Quantum mechanics, strong emergence and ontological non-reducibility
225-578-0464
pullin@phys.lsu.edu
241-C Nicholson
rauA. Ravi P. Rau
Alumni Professor
Ph.D., 1970 - University of Chicago
Atomic Theory
225-578-6841
arau@phys.lsu.edu
223 Nicholson
Dubravka RupnikDubravka Rupnik
Instructor
Ph.D., 1994 - Louisiana State University
Physics Education
225-578-8400
rupnik@phys.lsu.edu
366 Nicholson

M. SaghayezhianMohammad Saghayezhian
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2017 - Louisiana State University
Condensed Matter Physics

225-578-4147
smoha12@lsu.edu
229-D Nicholson

Bradley SchaeferBradley Schaefer
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1983 - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Astronomy/Astrophysics

schaefer@lsu.edu
226 Nicholson
Kenneth SchaferKenneth Schafer
Ball Family Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., 1989 - University of Arizona
Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
225-578-0466
schafer@phys.lsu.edu
222-B Nicholson
DSheehyDaniel Sheehy
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2001 - University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Theoretical Condensed Matter
225-578-5852
sheehy@phys.lsu.edu
210-B Nicholson
Parampreet SinghParampreet Singh
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2004 - IUCAA, University of Pune
Quantum Gravity, Cosmology
225-578-7513
psingh@phys.lsu.edu
255-A Nicholson
Phillip SprungerPhillip Sprunger
Professor
Ph.D., 1993 - University of Pennsylvania
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-1254
phils@lsu.edu
217-B Nicholson
J. Gregory StacyJ. Gregory Stacy
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1985 - University of Maryland
Space Science/Particle Astrophysics
225-578-3557
SU:225-771-2831
gstacy@phys.lsu.edu
359-B Nicholson
stadlerShane Stadler
Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Tulane University
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-2025
stadler@phys.lsu.edu
210-F Nicholson

Ka Ming TamKa Ming Tam
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - Boston University
Theoretical/Computational Physics

225-578-6857
kmtam@phys.lsu.edu
280 Nicholson

Joel TohlineJoel Tohline
Director Emeritus
Alumni Professor Emeritus
225-578-6851
tohline@phys.lsu.edu
264 Nicholson
Martin TzanovMartin Tzanov
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2005 - University of Pittsburgh
Experimental Neutrino Physics
225-578-0554
mtzanov@phys.lsu.edu
220-B Nicholson
Ilya VekhterIlya Vekhter
Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Brown University
Condensed Matter Theory
225-578-0598
vekhter@phys.lsu.edu
210-E Nicholson 
wefelJohn Wefel
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1971 - Washington University-St. Louis
Experimental/Theoretical Astrophysics
225-578-8696
wefel@phunds.phys.lsu.edu
359-A Nicholson
wildeMark Wilde
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - University of Southern California
Quantum Science and Technology
225-578-4323
mwilde@phys.lsu.edu
447-A Nicholson 
youngDavid Young
Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Florida State University
Materials Science
225-578-2490
dyoung@phys.lsu.edu
210-D Nicholson

zganjarEdward Zganjar
Alumni Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1966 - Vanderbilt University
Experimental Nuclear Physics

225-578-6842
zganjar@phys.lsu.edu
221-B Nicholson
Jiandi ZhangJiandi Zhang
Professor
Ph.D., 1994 - Syracuse University
Experimental Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
225-578-4103
jiandiz@lsu.edu
229-A Nicholson
Rui ZhangRui Zhang
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2011 - UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Therapeutic Physics
225-578-2975
225-215-1132
rzhang@lsu.edu
443-B Nicholson
Nayeli Zuniga-HansenNayeli Zuniga-Hansen
Instructor
Ph.D., 2013 - Southern Illinois University Carbondale
225-578-0019
zunigahansen@lsu.edu
362 Nicholson