About LSU Chemistry 

Chemistry and Materials Building

Chemistry and Materials Building

LSU Chemistry is one of six departments in the College of Science and is designated as a Foundation of Excellence Department due to the outstanding accomplishments of our faculty, staff, and students in terms of teaching/learning, research, and service. 

The department is located in Baton Rouge and occupies three buildings: Choppin Hall, Chemistry and Materials Building (CMB, opened 2012), and teaching facilities in Williams Hall.

As one of the best-equipped chemistry departments in the United States, we have full instrumentation resources for crystallography, NMR, mass spectrometry, and a synchrotron facility to meet research needs. For information on the department's instrumentation resources, visit the LSU Chemistry facilities webpage.  

Through interdisciplinary research, our students work in some of the most exciting areas of modern chemistry. The faculty are are highly active while maintaining a strong commitment to teaching at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. As a result of our excellence in teaching and research, we have the largest Ph.D. program at LSU and have doubled the number of undergraduate chemistry majors.

Chemistry majors can select from one of nine areas of concentration. The different concentrations are designed to prepare students for an active career in chemistry or other professions, including the health fields, such as medicine, pharmacy, and dentistry. Students interested in education will earn a secondary teaching certificate through the LSU Geaux Teach program. Learn more about the curriculum for a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry.