Integrative Learning Core Committee


  • To maximize the exposure of students to a diversity of proficiencies in the General Education courses.
  • To review, approve, conditionally approve, or deny course proposals submitted by educational units to be added to the Integrative Learning Core (ILC) list of approved courses.
  • To maintain long-term oversight of the quality and effectiveness of the ILC, including collection of assessment data to ensure the program fulfills the goal of enhancing proficiencies of LSU students.
  • To make recommendations to the Office of Academic Affairs concerning student petitions for exceptions to the published ILC requirements, including course substitutions.
  • To evaluate the effectiveness of individual courses in fulfilling the goals of general education with sending of ILC evaluations and recommendations through the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to Office of Academic Affairs by following published procedures for review of courses.
  • To interpret and clarify the philosophy and goals of general education and integrated learning, to keeping abreast of similar programs nationwide, to review periodically reviewing the existing requirements, and to recommend restructuring, when appropriate.
  • To coordinate with the Office of Academic Affairs, appropriate college advisors, and counseling faculty that students are adequately informed about ILC requirements.
  • To direct, as needed or as requested, surveys of the educational units, including deans, directors, and department chairs to determine the impact of the ILC requirements on areas such as academic programs, facilities, and faculty and staff scheduling.  Identified problems will be provided by the committee to the Executive Vice President and Provost.


Voting membership will consist of experienced faculty members, preferably those who have taught general education/ILC courses, with one representative from Agriculture, Art & Design, Business, Coast & Environment, Engineering, Human Sciences & Education, Humanities & Social Sciences, Mass Communication, Music & Dramatic Arts, Science, and a representative from the Honors College. Experienced faculty members are those who have had one or more years of active participation on a department, school, or college curriculum committee. Membership cannot not include faculty at the Department Head/Chair and above.

Ex-officio (non-voting) membership will include; one upper-division undergraduate student; the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs (or designee), representative from the University Registrar (or designee),  and representative from the Office of Institutional Effectiveness (or designee).

The usual term of service for a voting member will be three years. Terms will be staggered in a manner determined by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, so that approximately one-third of the voting faculty members of each committee will begin their terms each year. A person may serve for more than three consecutive years in exceptional cases, considering, for example, the need for continuity or special expertise. In provisions for a term of service on a committee, other than for an ex officio member, a year will be understood to begin on the first day of fall semester classes; and to end on the day before the first day of fall semester classes - unless otherwise specified in these Bylaws or by the appointing authority.

In the spring, the committee will elect a chair and co-chair for the following year from its voting members. A chair must have at least one full year left of his or her term on the committee. Whenever there is no chair in place, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee may appoint a chair to serve until the committee elects one.

If a vacancy occurs, and if there is no eligible Alternate for the position, the FSEC will name a faculty member to fill the vacancy. The individual filling the vacancy must meet the requirements of part 1 above.

Additional consulting, non-voting members may be invited to the committee with approval by the FSEC.

In the fall, the committee will elect a secretary for purposes of taking and maintaining meeting minutes.



Name College Email Term
Kip Matthews (chair) Science 2025
Meredith Veldman Humanities & Social Sciences 2023
Suzette Caleo Business 2024
Haosheng Huang Coast & Environment 2024
Charles Goodman Music & Dramatic Arts 2024
Laura Piestrynski Human Sciences & Education 2024
Aly Aly Engineering  2025
Kayanush Aryana Agriculture 2025
Michael Barton Humanities & Social Sciences 2025
Chun Yang Mass Communications  2025
Ludovico Geymonat Art & Design 2025
William Ma Honors College 2025
Kyla Kazuschyk Music & Dramatic Arts 2025
Jackie Bach Executive Vice President & Provost (or designee) Ex-officio
Clay Benton University Registrar  Ex-officio
Tara Rose Institutional Effectiveness  Ex-officio
Rachel May Administrative Support  

Minutes and Agendas

Date Agenda Minutes
April 27, 2023 04/27/2023 Agenda 04/27/2023 Minutes
March 23, 2023 03/23/2023 Agenda 03/23/2023 Minutes
February 23, 2023 02/23/2023 Agenda 02/23/2023 Minutes
January 26 2023 01/26/2023 Agenda 01/26/2023 Minutes
December 1, 2022 12/01/2022 Agenda 12/01/2022 Minutes
November 3, 2022 11/03/2022 Agenda 11/03/2022 Minutes
October 6, 2022 10/06/2022 Agenda 10/06/2022 Minutes
September 1, 2022 09/01/2022 Agenda 09/01/2022 Minutes