LSU’s Manship School Faculty Earns Numerous Prestigious Awards

May 25, 2018
Baton Rouge, LA – Nine faculty members at LSU’s Manship School of Mass Communication were honored with top university and community awards during the spring 2018 semester, underscoring the impact they make through their research, community service and dedication to teaching excellence.

Dr. Nichole Bauer was awarded the Emerging Research Award from LSU’s Office of Research and Economic Development in April. This grant supports innovative research in emerging areas that have the potential for continued support from external sources. Bauer will use the funding to measure how female candidates promote their accomplishments to voters and the news media, and how voters and the news media respond to the self-promotion messages of female candidates.

Dean Jerry Ceppos was honored by the Baton Rouge Area Association of Black Journalists in April for his commitment to diversity, which spans across his career in both news and academia. As a young editor, Ceppos fought for newsroom diversity and was awarded one of three first-ever Society for Professional Journalists Ethics in Journalism awards in 1997. During his seven years at the Manship School, Ceppos has championed diversity within the school, bringing the faculty up to one-third people of color.

Dr. Joshua Darr won a 2018 Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award in the Ogden Honors College in April. The award recognizes outstanding instruction and advising in the Ogden Honors College, particularly for senior thesis projects. Darr teaches the courses “Political Communication Research” and “News Media & Governance,” among others, at the Manship School.

Dr. Brooks Fuller won the 2018 Nafziger-White-Salwen Dissertation Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication in May. This award provides recognition for the best Ph.D. dissertation in the field of mass communication research excellence. The award is named for Ralph O. Nafziger and David Manning White, authors of “Introduction to Mass Communication Research,” and Michael Salwen, co-author (with Don Stacks) of “An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Research.”

Dr. Yongick Jeong was awarded the 2018 Tiger Athletic Foundation President’s Award, which recognizes a faculty member for extraordinary classroom teaching as demonstrated by an impact on and an involvement with students, a scholarly approach to teaching and learning, and contributions to the profession of teaching. Jeong is also adviser of the Manship School National Student Advertising Competition.

Dr. Nathan Kalmoe won a 2018 Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award in the Manship School in April. The award recognizes outstanding instruction and advising. Kalmoe teaches "Public Opinion & Public Affairs" at the Manship School. He was also awarded a $50,000 ATLAS grant in April from the Louisiana Board of Regents to focus on writing his book, “With Ballots & Bullets: Partisanship and Violence in the American Civil War.”

Tad Odell won a 2018 Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award in the Manship School in April. The award recognizes outstanding instruction and advising. Odell teaches "Introduction to Mass Communication" and "Visual Communication" at the Manship School, in addition to serving as an adviser for The Daily Reveille.

Dr. Meghan Sanders was honored in May as one of Dillard University’s “40 Under 40” for her demonstrated excellence in the both the classroom and in her research. Sanders is director of the Media Effects Lab at LSU’s Manship School, which is dedicated to the exploration of how media consumers emotionally and cognitively process media content and formats. Her innovative research on audience perception has included the movies Black Panther and Avengers: Infinity War.

Dr. Kasey Windels was selected as a participant in the Association of National Advertisers Educational Foundation’s 2018 Visiting Professor Program. She was also awarded LSU’s 2018 Brij Mohan distinguished Professor Award, which rewards an LSU faculty member who is committed to peace, equality and social justice.