Integrative Learning Core Committee


To review, approve, conditionally approve, or deny course proposals submitted by educational units to be added to the Integrated Learning Core (ILC) list of approved courses.

To maintain long-term oversight of the quality and effectiveness of the ILC, including collection of assessment data to ensure the program fulfills the goal of enhancing proficiency of LSU students.

To make recommendations to the Office of Academic Affairs concerning student petitions for exceptions to the published ILC requirements, including course substitutions.

To evaluate the effectiveness of individual courses in fulfilling the goals of general education by following published procedures for review of courses.

To interpret and clarify the philosophy and goals of general education, to keep abreast of similar programs nationwide, to review periodically the existing requirements, and to recommend restructuring, when appropriate.

To coordinate with the Office of Academic Affairs, appropriate college advisors, and counseling faculty that students are adequately informed about ILC requirements.

To direct, as needed or as requested, surveys of the educational units, including deans, directors, and department chairs to determine the impact of the ILC requirements on areas such as academic programs, facilities, and faculty and staff scheduling. Identified problems will be provided by the committee to the Executive Vice President and Provost.


Voting membership will consist of experienced faculty members, preferably those who have taught general education/ILC courses, with one representative from Agriculture, Art & Design, Business, Coast & Environment, Engineering, Human Sciences & Education, Humanities & Social Sciences, Mass Communication, Music & Dramatic Arts, Science, and a representative from the Honors College.

Experienced faculty members are those who have had one or more years of active participation on a department, school, or college curriculum committee.

Membership cannot not include faculty at the Department Head/Chair and above.

Ex-officio (non-voting) membership will include; one upper-division undergraduate student; the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs (or designee), representative from the University Registrar (or designee),  and representative from the Office of Institutional Effectiveness (or designee).

The usual term of service for a voting member will be three years. Terms will be staggered in a manner determined by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, so that approximately one-third of the voting faculty members of each committee will begin their terms each year. A person may serve for more than three consecutive years in exceptional cases, considering, for example, the need for continuity or special expertise.

In provisions for a term of service on a committee, other than for an ex officio member, a year will be understood to begin on the first day of fall semester classes; and to end on the day before the first day of fall semester classes - unless otherwise specified in these Bylaws or by the appointing authority.

In the spring, the committee will elect a chair and co-chair for the following year from its voting members. A chair must have at least one full year left of his or her term on the committee. Whenever there is no chair in place, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee may appoint a chair to serve until the committee elects one.

If a vacancy occurs, and if there is no eligible Alternate for the position, the FSEC will name a faculty member to fill the vacancy. The individual filling the vacancy must meet the requirements above.

Additional consulting, non-voting members may be invited to the committee with approval by the FSEC.

In the fall, the committee will elect a secretary for purposes of taking and maintaining meeting minutes.


Name College/Unit Email Term
Ludovico Geymonat Art & Design  2025
Kyla Kazuschyk Music & Dramatic Arts  2025
Vacant Science    
Vacant Business    
Vacant Coast & Environment    
Vacant Music & Dramatic Arts    
Vacant Human Sciences & Education    
Aly Aly Engineering  2025
Kayanush Aryana Agriculture  2025
William Ma Honors College  2025
David Chicoine (Chair) Humanities & Social Sciences  2026
Fanny Ramirez Mass Communications  2026
Selena Oswalt Science  2026
Jason Wolfe (Co-Chair) Humanities & Social Sciences  2026
Jackie Bach Academic Affairs  Ex-officio
Jim Murphy Academic Affairs Ex-officio
Haley Bourgeois University Registrar  Ex-officio
OIE Representative Institutional Effectiveness Ex-officio


Meetings & Agendas