2024 University and College Research, Teaching, and Mentoring Awards

May 06, 2024

Louisiana State University honors faculty members each year for their exceptional commitment to research, teaching, and service during the University Faculty Awards Ceremony and the LSU College of Science Arthur R. Choppin Honors Convocation. Congratulations to the LSU Department of Chemistry faculty, who were among the honorees this year. These distinguished individuals have been recognized for their extraordinary achievements and dedication to advancing research, enriching education, and providing invaluable mentoring.


University Faculty Award


Alumni Association Rising Faculty Research Award 

Dr. Elgrishi

Assistant Professor Noémie Elgrishi

Assistant Professor Noémie Elgrishi received a 2024 Alumni Association Rising Faculty Research Award. The award is part of the LSU University Faculty Awards and recognizes assistant professors who have demonstrated exceptional scholarship and a significant impact through their published research.

The Elgrishi research team focuses on developing electrochemical techniques to improve the energy efficiency of complex proton-coupled electron transfer processes (PCET). They also investigate how confinement influences molecular electrocatalytic systems, with potential applications ranging from water purification to advanced energy storage solutions.

At LSU, Elgrishi's work has been featured in twelve journal articles, with one of her papers published in the Journal of the American Chemical Society. In addition, an article published in the American Chemical Society Journal of Chemical Education entitled “A practical beginner’s guide to cyclic voltammetry” was selected for Open Access, and it has been downloaded 950,000 times. Although early in her career, she already has 9 publications which have been cited more than 100 times each, one of her publications as lead author was cited more than 470 times, and another was cited 3,176 times.



College of Science Faculty Awards


Dr. Marion D. "Soc" Socolofsky Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr. HurstSenior Instructor Kandace Hurst

The Socolofsky Award for Teaching Excellence honors the legacy of the late Marion "Soc" Socolofsky, a fierce advocate for students at LSU and one of the College of Science's most influential leaders and educators. The award recognizes faculty members who embody pedagogic qualities that Dr. Socolofsky was known for, including strong teaching, mentoring and student experiences. 

Senior Instructor Kandace Hurst developed a passion for teaching during her doctoral tenure at LSU, working alongside Professor Frank Neubrander on a K-12 teaching initiative in Iberville Parish. After earning her degree, she became a secondary and master teacher before joining the LSU Chemistry faculty in 2014. 

Hurst has instructed both lecture and laboratory classes in general chemistry and served on several committees in the College of Science, including the Geaux Teach Advisory Committee, the Science Residential College Advisory Committee, and the Undergraduate Taskforce. In 2021, she was appointed Director of Undergraduate Laboratories and Academic Advisor for chemistry majors.

When students come to her office for guidance and advice, she “preaches GRIT” and is often thanked for her “gestures of patience.” Her dedication to student success and well-being is widely recognized and affirmed by her colleagues.



College of Science Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Mentoring Award

Dr. Kartika

Professor Rendy Kartika

Professor Rendy Kartika is a recipient of the LSU College of Science Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award for 2024. The award recognizes the exceptional contributions of faculty who advocate for student engagement and success. 

Kartika joined the LSU Chemistry faculty in 2011 and has built a successful research program encompassing synthetic organic chemistry to create complex small molecules of pharmaceutical interest. He has published more than 40 peer-reviewed journal articles. 

As the Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, Kartika has notably enhanced the recruitment and retention of chemistry majors. In this endeavor, he modernized the BS Chemistry curriculum and also created the BA Chemistry track to make pursuing a chemistry degree more accessible for students with broader scholastic and professional interests. The new BA Chemistry program will be launched in the Fall 2024 semester.

Kartika has led the effort to establish modern chemistry teaching laboratories that enhance student learning experience. He secured over $700,000 in Student Technology Fee funding to equip the organic and analytical chemistry teaching laboratories with state-of-the-art instrumentations. Kartika is highly praised for teaching and mentoring in his classrooms and research laboratory. He is a recipient of the Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award in 2015 and the Dr. Marion D. “Soc” Socolofsky Award for Teaching Excellence in 2022.