Legislative Session Message from President Tate

June 07, 2022

Dear LSU community,

The 2022 Legislative Session wrapped at approximately 6 p.m. last night, and I’m pleased to announce that LSU will be receiving more than $110 million in funding for 2023 as part of the largest state funding increase ever for Louisiana higher education. Our efforts to protect and elevate Louisiana through our Scholarship First Agenda continue thanks to Governor John Bel Edwards and the legislature’s historic investment in higher education.

These funds include operating budget enhancements such as faculty pay raises, capital outlay investments to assist with the construction of new projects, and support for the Office of Inclusion, Civil Rights & Title IX. We are also excited by the $2 million in planning funds for the LSU Library and the funding for the Our Lady of the Lake Interdisciplinary Science Building, home to the LSU College of Science. With our most recent gifts from Our Lady of the Lake, LCMC Health, and many generous private donors, we have secured the funds to complete the science building.

Our aspirational Scholarship First Agenda received investments in agriculture, biotechnology, coast, cyber defense, and energy. Highlights include $12.5 million for a supercomputer to support computational sciences across LSU and all Louisiana universities; $5 million for a carbon capture and hydrogen fuel initiative; $2.5 million for the defense cybersecurity program; and $3 million for National Cancer Institute designation effort.

The research, teaching and service we do as a result of this investment will impact every parish in Louisiana. In addition to thanking them for their support, I'd like to thank every one of you for making our university such a worthy recipient of funding at historic levels. Together, we will improve the lives of every Louisianan by pursuing excellence in our scholarship mission. Thank you for contributing to the rich tradition that makes LSU a distinctive flagship university.

William F. Tate IV
LSU President