Notable Alumni & Friends

In Loving Memory


 photo: steve buttry

Student Media Director Steve Buttry died Feb. 19, 2017, after his third battle with cancer. Steve was described as “a journalist renowned for his leadership in digital innovation.” He was recognized for his growing role as both a pioneer and scribe of the newspaper industry’s digital transformation and held leadership roles in newspapers all over the country for four decades.

Thanks to these generous donors, a lasting legacy for Steve has been created in the form of a scholarship.




Notable Alumni & Friends

Dan Hatfield

photo: Dan Hatfield

Dan Hatfield (1986) was part of the team at the East Bay Times (East Bay of San Francisco) to win the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for Breaking News for coverage of what was known as the ghost ship fire that killed 36 people. Hatfield is the editorial page editor for the Times. He has been in the newspaper business for 44 years in Florida, Louisiana and California. He was city editor at The Advocate for 16 years and was an adjunct instructor of journalism at the Manship School.



Amy Brittain

photo: Amy Brittain

Amy Brittain (2009), a native of Shreveport, La., is part of the Washington Post staff recognized in 2016 with the Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting. Brittain delivered the commencement address at the 2016 LSU summer graduation ceremony.


Lance Frank

photo: Lance Frank

Lance Frank (2011) is executive director of communications at CBS News and helped launch the #ManshipLoyalty Campaign.


Megan Kelty

photo: Emmy award winner Megan Kelty.

In 2015, Megan Kelty (2005) won a News & Documentary Emmy Award for outstanding feature story in a regularly scheduled newscast for her work as an associate producer on CBS’s “On the Road: Pay It Forward.” 


Cassandra Chandler

Cassandra Chandler retired as one of the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s highest-ranking African-American women as Special Agent in Charge of the Norfolk field office. She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the “Presidential Rank of Meritorious Executive Award,” the National Center for Women and Policing’s “Breaking the Glass Ceiling” Award, and the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives’ “Phenomenal Woman” Community Service Award.


Matt Barnidge

photo: Matt Barnidge 

In 2017, Barnidge (2010) won the AEJMC 2017 News Audience Research Paper Award for a paper on multi platform news use with co-writers Trevor Diehl and Homero Gil de Zúñiga.