LSU ME Professor Guo Receives Rainmaker Award

March 8, 2023

Professor Shengmin GuoBATON ROUGE, LA – LSU Mechanical Engineering Professor Shengmin Guo has been named a recipient of the LSU Rainmaker Award, which is given each year to faculty who show outstanding research, scholarship, and creative activity for their respective ranks and disciplines.

Nominations are solicited from faculty, departments, and colleges for the emerging, mid-career, and senior scholar awards. For each award category, one award is given to a faculty member in the area of Arts, Humanities, Social, or Behavioral Sciences; and one is given to a faculty member in the area of Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics. Each award comes with a one-time cash stipend of $1,000 and recipients are recognized at a reception in the spring. Guo received the senior scholar award in the area of Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics

“Surrounded by talented students, supportive colleagues, and loving family members, for me, LSU is a perfect place to establish a successful academic career,” Guo said.

Guo holds the Jack Holmes Professorship in Mechanical Engineering and is a Louisiana-registered professional engineer. Prior to joining LSU in 2004, he was junior faculty at the University of Oxford and the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology in England.

Guo’s research activities are in the fields of thermal fluids, instrumentation, power generation, laser additive manufacturing, and high-temperature materials. More specifically, he has an established track record on gas turbine aerodynamics and heat transfer, plasma spray coatings, high-temperature ceramics and alloys, laser-based additive manufacturing, and solid-state friction stir-based advanced manufacturing.

The Rainmaker Award was established by LSU’s Office of Research & Economic Development, Campus Federal Credit Union, and the Council on Research.

Like us on Facebook (@lsuengineering) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuengineering).​


Contact: Joshua Duplechain
Director of Communications