Two Professors Receive 2017 William A. Brookshire Award for Teaching Excellence


Two College of Engineering professors—Stephanie Heumann and John Scalzo—have each been selected to receive the 2017 William A. Brookshire Award for Teaching Excellence.

The award, which began last year, honors full-time faculty members in the College of Engineering who demonstrate an unwavering commitment to exemplifying the highest levels of excellence inside the classroom.

Heumann is an instructor and the undergraduate coordinator for the Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management. Her teaching responsibilities include Estimating, Materials and Senior Capstone; Land Development Management; and Project and Cost Management.

Stephanie Heumann receive teaching awardScalzo is a senior instructor and the undergraduate advisor for the Division of Electrical & Computer Engineering. His teaching responsibilities include Senior Design, Tools in ECE, Circuits, and Applied Electromagnetics.

L to R: Craig Harvey, associate dean; Jerry Trahan, division chair; John Scalzo; and Judy Wornat, dean.A dean-appointed committee of administrators, faculty and student leaders reviewed the nomination packages, which included letters of recommendation from the professors’ colleagues and students, and selected the winners. The recipients were notified of the award last week by the Dean and their respective department chairs.

This award was made possible by LSU College of Engineering alumnus and Hall of Distinction inductee, William Brookshire. Read this article to learn more about his many contributions to the College.

# # #

Laura J. Odenwald, assistant manager of digital marketing, LSU College of Engineering