College of Engineering Members Honored for Service to LSU

LSU's 19th Annual Employee Recognition Program was hosted by Chancellor Michael V. Martin on Wednesday, April 28, 2010 at the Lod Cook Alumni Center. The event honored employees who have served the LSU community for 25 to 45 years. A great number of employees from the College of Engineering earned recognition.

For 35 years of service to the University, Thomas Ray, retired chair of the Construction Management and Industrial Engineering (CMIE) department and Steven Schmeckpeper of the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) department were both recognized.

Five employees from the College were recognized for 30 years of service:

  • Jorge Aravena, interim chair of ECE
  • Margaret Brewer, administrative assistant 5 in the Office of the Dean
  • Frederick "Carl" Knopf, professor in the Cain Department of Chemical Engineering
  • L. Leslie Rosso, associate professor of CMIE
  • George Voyiadjis, chair of the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) department

Tryfon Charalampopoulous, professor of the Mechanical Engineering department; W. David Constant, dean of the LSU Graduate School and CEE professor; and Chin-Yuan "Golden" Hwaung, research associate 3 in ECE were all recognized for 25 years of service.


- 30 -

Article by Crystal Jackson, College of Engineering Public Relations Graduate Assistant, 225-578-5706,