Department of Accounting Honors Outstanding Students

May 25, 2022

Accounting Awards banquet tables and stage.

The LSU Department of Accounting celebrates the 2022 Accounting Awards Banquet on April 28 in the BEC Rotunda. 

BATON ROUGE – In recognition of their academic accomplishments, the Department of Accounting awarded more than $65,000 in scholarships.

Additionally, Assistant Professor William Buslepp was given the Vincent C. Brenner Award, presented annually to the untenured faculty member who has been most productive in academic research.

Assistant Professor Zhenhua Chen was named Outstanding Teacher, an award given to a faculty member dedicated to excellence in classroom instruction and who demonstrates a commitment to furthering the instruction mission of the Department of Accounting.

The department awarded scholarships to the following students:

Association of Government Accountants 
Miranda Kent, Baton Rouge, LA 

Baton Rouge Society of Louisiana CPAs Scholarships 
Megan David, Baton Rouge, LA
Clarence Magee, Zachary, LA

Becker Professional Education Discounted CPA Review Course 
Helen Alford, Baton Rouge, LA

Carol Calkins MAcc Scholarship 
Abby Spada, Baton Rouge, LA

Clarence L. Dunn Endowed Scholarship    
Caroline Ingraffia, Hammond, LA

Corey Tackett Scholarship            
Mikala Mitchell, Gonzales, LA

Dale Jenkins Family Scholarship
Hilary Hughes, Destrehan, LA
William D Clements, Lake Charles, LA

Deloitte Outstanding Sophomores/Juniors        
Haley Rietschel, Covington, LA
Kareem Qaradeh, La Place, LA

Deloitte Scholarship for Incoming Master of Accountancy (MAcc) student 
Jacob Marchand, Gonzales, LA

Ernst & Young Outstanding Juniors
Reagan Osborne, Baton Rouge, LA
Sydnie Duncan, Prairieville, LA
Brooks Giardina, Sulphur, LA

ExxonMobil Outstanding PhD student 
Hilary Hughes, Destrehan, LA

Faulk & Winkler Scholarship       
Lebria Perkins, Baton Rouge, LA
Sydney Melder, Baton Rouge, LA

George Jarvis Williams Scholarship 
Kristyn Brewer, Cypress, TX

Grant Thornton Scholarship 
Kristyn Brewer, Cypress, TX

H. Sami PhD Student Scholarship 
Wanying Jiang, Baton Rouge, LA
Alisha Blush, Santa Barbara, CA

H. J. "Monday" Lowe Endowed Scholarship 
Evan Cook, Mandeville, LA 

Hannis T. Bourgeois, LLP (audit) 
Danial Cheema, Kenner, LA

Hannis T. Bourgeois, LLP (tax) 
Camryn Meaux, Sulphur, LA

Jake L. Netterville Superior Graduate Scholarship in Accounting
Claudia Pickell, Baton Rouge, LA

James M. Owen Memorial Scholarship
Juliana Mejia, New Iberia, LA

KPMG Outstanding Junior Scholarship
Lucas Moreau, Opelousas, LA

KPMG Scholarship for Incoming MAcc students 
Reagan Tafaro, Metairie, LA
Alexandra Stevens, Baton Rouge, LA

LaPorte Outstanding Senior         
Anna K Breaux, Covington, LA
Anne Lagarde, New Orleans, LA

Lonnie H. Bearry Scholarship 
Reagan Osborne, Baton Rouge, LA

Lloyd Morrison Award Fund 
Nick Mitchell, Silver Spring, MD

LSU Department of Accounting General Scholarship Fund
Luke Paille, Folsom, LA

LSU Department of Accounting General Scholarship Fund 
James Clement, Saint Francisville, LA
Elizabeth Cannon, Houston, TX

Marcela Donadio Scholarship 
Courtney Hebert, Alexandria, LA
Alisha Blush, Santa Barbara, CA

Mary Sanguinetti Schroeder Scholarship 
Susan Hardgrave, Alexandria, LA
Lauren Delhaye, Saint Amant, LA

Monica L. Zumo Excellence in Accounting Scholarship 
Kaitlyn Bowlin, Bossier City, LA 

Postlethwaite & Netterville (Auditing) 
Grant Cretin, Baton Rouge, LA

Postlethwaite & Netterville (Tax)
Preston Gravely, Katy, TX

PricewaterhouseCoopers Outstanding Sophomore Scholarship 
Whitney Zaunbrecher, Lake Arthur, LA

PricewaterhouseCoopers Outstanding Junior Scholarship 
Maggie Peltier, Ventress, LA

Robichaux Family Superior Graduate Scholarship 
Mikaela Gonzales DelValle, Miami, FL

Texas Tiger Tournament Endowed Scholarship 
Anna Montanio, Baton Rouge, LA

Thomas Brian Phillips Endowed Scholarship 
Brooks Giardina, Sulphur, LA

Wegmann Dazet Scholarships 
Ethan Wachtel, New Orleans, LA
Ashley Whelan, Mandeville, LA

William "Bill" Clayton Potter, Sr. Scholarship        
Tahj Gill, New Orleans, LA

The Louisiana CPA Education Foundation also awarded scholarships to LSU students during the ceremony.

Megan David, Baton Rouge, LA

Camryn Meaux, Mandeville, LA

Kaya Dundar, Slidell, LA

Richard Roth Memorial Scholarship  
Samantha Raeder, New Orleans, LA


About the Department of Accounting

The Department of Accounting at LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business strives for excellence in teaching, research, and service to the accounting profession. With a mission of producing graduates at all levels who excel in their pursuits, the department offers undergraduate and graduate programs that prepare students for careers in various fields, including industry, auditing, finance, government, and academia. For more information, visit LSU Department of Accounting, call 225-578-6202, or email