LSU Accounting Honors Outstanding Students

August 12, 2022

In recognition of their academic accomplishments, the Department of Accounting awarded scholarships to 37 students.

Additionally, Assistant Professor Sanaz Aghazadeh was given the Vincent C. Brenner Award, presented annually to the untenured faculty member who has been most productive in academic research.

Senior Instructor Laura Wiley was named Outstanding Teacher, an award given to a faculty member dedicated to excellence in classroom instruction and who demonstrates a commitment to furthering the instruction mission of the Department of Accounting.

The department awarded scholarships to the following students:

Association of Government Accountants - $550    
William Daley, Amite, LA
Jordan Willis, Alexandria, LA

Baton Rouge Society of Louisiana CPAs - $1,000 
Alexis Pippin, Shreveport, LA
Anneie To, Harvey, LA

Clarence L. Dunn Endowed Scholarship - $350    
Grant Ledet, New Orleans, LA

Corey Tackett Scholarship - $2,000            
Eric Diaz-Miranda, Gonzales, LA

Dale Jenkins Family Scholarship - $1,000 
Shelby Wainwright, Hammond, LA

Deloitte Outstanding Sophomores/Juniors - $1,000          
Caroline Ingraffia, Hammond, LA
Darrion Wiley, Baton Rouge, LA

Deloitte Scholarship for Incoming Master of Accountancy (MAcc) student - $1,000   
Adele Poche, Baton Rouge, LA

Ernst & Young Outstanding Juniors - $1,000
Kaitlyn Calero , Miami, FL
Hayden Cowart, Greenwell Springs, LA
Mary Catherine Overton, Humble, TX

ExxonMobil Outstanding PhD student - $1,000
Wanying Jiang; Jingdezhen, Jiangxi, China

Faulk & Winkler Scholarship - $1,000       
Claudia Pickell, Baton Rouge, LA
Ashley Whelan, Mandeville, LA

George Jarvis Williams Scholarship - $750
Kaya Dunbar, Slidell, LA

H. Sami PhD Student Scholarship - $500   
Hilary Hughes, High Point, NC
Nick Mitchell, New Orleans, LA

H. J. "Monday" Lowe Endowed Scholarship - $750        
Gabrielle Gerarve, Mandeville, LA

Hannis T. Bourgeois, LLP (audit) - $1,000 
James Clement, St. Francisville, LA

Hannis T. Bourgeois, LLP (tax) - $1,000    
Kameron Olds , West Monroe, LA

James M. Owen Memorial Scholarship - $1,100   
Carolyn Hundley, Mandeville, LA

KPMG - $1,000
Raegan Tafaro, Metairie, LA

KPMG Scholarship for Incoming MAcc students - $1,000
William Clements, Lake Charles, LA         
Nathan McDavid, Baton Rouge, LA

LaPorte Outstanding Senior - $1,000         
Habibah Ibrahim         Baker, LA

Lloyd Morrison Award Fund - $1,000
Lacey Donley, Denver, CO

LSU Accounting Faculty Outstanding Student entering the MAcc program - $1,250  
Hayden Livaudais, Covington, LA

Postlethwaite & Netterville (Auditing) - $1,000
Evan Cook, Mandeville, LA

Postlethwaite & Netterville (Tax) - $1,000 
Brook Bourgoyne, Brusly, LA

PricewaterhouseCoopers Scholarship - $2,000  
Kristyn Brewer, Cypress, TX   
Camryn Meaux, Mandeville, LA

Thomas Brian Phillips Endowed Scholarship - $750
Christopher Gardebled, Metairie, LA

Wegmann Dazet & Company - $1,000
Emily Faucheux, Vacherie, LA
Cody Knight, Kenner, LA

William "Bill" Clayton Potter, Sr. - $1,000           
Sydney Melder, Baton Rouge, LA


About the Department of Accounting

The Department of Accounting at LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business strives for excellence in teaching, research, and service to the accounting profession. With a mission of producing graduates at all levels who excel in their pursuits, the department offers undergraduate and graduate programs that prepare students for careers in various fields, including industry, auditing, finance, government, and academia. For more information, visit, call 225-578-6202, or email .