College of Science Students, Faculty, and Staff Recognized at the 47th Annual Dean Arthur R. Choppin Honors Ceremony

May 13, 2024

BATON ROUGE- Each spring, the College of Science celebrates the achievements of its students, faculty, and staff at the prestigious Dean Arthur R. Choppin Honors Ceremony.

Dr. Arthur R. Choppin, an LSU graduate of 1918 with majors in chemistry and botany, left a lasting legacy. After World War I service, he returned to LSU as an instructor, earning his master’s in chemistry in 1925. He furthered his education with a Ph.D. from Ohio State University before returning to LSU as a professor of chemistry, pioneering research in kinetics. His leadership as dean from 1944 to 1968 transformed LSU's approach to science, emphasizing faculty and student research.

This year, in its 47th iteration, this ceremony continues thanks to generous donations honoring Dr. Choppin through the LSU Foundation and Louisiana Department of the American Legion scholarship fund.

Congratulations to all this year's honorees!


test11 - Dr. Hollie Hale-Donze and Dr. Kandace Hurst

Dr. Eric Burns

Dr. Rendy Kartika

Stephanie Jones

Dr. Andre Moncrieff

Isaac Ponder, Mary Marchand, Emma Tsai

Abigail Chen

Maia Jackson, Katy Knecht, Emily O’Quin, Alexandra Barton, Jayden Turner, Sade Dennis

Elanor Fuller, Kenedi Lynch, Lexi Cheramie, Aidan Purcell

Sadie Noble, Katy Knecht, Starlyn Pickett, Sarah Napier, Tai Hua, Peyton Meares, Ayesha Weerakoon

Rorisang Kgoadi, Alexa Tullier, Samuel Juneau

Evan Short, Sarah Subach, Luke LeGoullon, Han Nguyen, Dingjie Huang, Jay Garcia, David Aiken

Haiden Guillory, Khristian Tallent, Miscia Fortna

Nina Colegrove, Dykia Williams, A’Maya Hill, Lexi Cheramie, Lilia Lopez Medina, Anna Leyrer, Steph Armond

Mackenzie Weeks, Nathaniel Wrobel, Ria Salway, Dylan Jones, Cory Riley, Thao Nguyen, Elena Dilworth

College of Science Recognitions

Dr. Marion D. “Soc” Socolofsky Award for Teaching Excellence: Kandace Hurst 
Graduate Teaching Award: Maheshi Dassanayake  
Undergraduate Teaching Award: Hollie Hale-Donze  
Non-Tenured Faculty Research Award: Eric Burns  
Excellence In Diversity, Equity, And Inclusion Mentoring Award (Tenure-track Faculty): Rendy Kartika  

Staff Excellence Award: Stephanie Jones

Distinguished Dissertation Award: Dr. Andre Moncrieff

Outstanding Senior: Mary Marchand 
Outstanding Junior: Isaac Ponder  
Outstanding Sophomore: Emma Tsai  

SRC Outstanding Student: Abigail Chen 

Student Ambassador Graduating Seniors: Alexandra Barton, Katy Knecht, Sade Dennis, Emily O’Quin, Maia Jackson, Jayden Turner, and Emma Johnson

Department of Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences Undergraduate Research Award: Kenedi Lynch 
Outstanding Senior in Biochemistry Award: Aidan Purcell 
Charles S. McCleskey Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Lexi Cheramie 
Marie Standifer Undergraduate Award in Biological Sciences: Elanor Fuller

Department Of Chemistry

Dr. Benjamin Pierre Boussert Outstanding Student Award: Sadie Noble and Peyton Meares 
Dr. Linda Allen Excellence in Academics and Research Award: Tai Hua, Ayesha Weerakoon, Katy Knecht, Sarah Napier, and Starlyn Pickett

Department of Geology & Geophysics

Outstanding Senior: Rorisang Kgoadi 
Outstanding Junior: Alexa Tullier 
Outstanding Sophomore: Samuel Juneau 

Department Of Mathematics 

Betti and Robert Giles Senior Mathematics Award: Han Nguyen 
Peg and Tom Madden Mathematics Research Scholarship: Dingjie Huang, Xavier Marquez, Luke LeGoullon, Jay Garcia, and Evan Short      
Margaret Oxley Mathematics Education Award: Christopher Hudson 
Pasquale Porcelli Rising Junior Undergraduate Scholarship: Sarah Subach and David Aiken 

Department of Physics & Astronomy 

Keen-Morris Award for Outstanding Senior: Khristian Tallent, Miscia Fortna, and Haiden Guillory

Office Of Academic Innovation & Engagement 

SCI Lead: Steph Armond, A’Maya Hill, Nita McCulla, Lexi Cheramie, Anna Leyrer, Oluwagbenga Ojemakinde, Nina Colegrove, Lilia Lopez Medina, Sadman Raabith, Connor Couvillion, Maci Mannina, and Dykia Williams

SOARS-Graduating Seniors: Elena Dilworth, Cory Riley, Mackenzie Weeks, Dylan Jones, Ria Salway, Nathaniel Wrobel, and Thao Nguyen