LSU Manship School’s Undergraduate, Graduate Programs Fully Reaccredited by ACEJMC

May 12, 2023

BATON ROUGE—The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) voted this month for the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication’s undergraduate and graduate programs to receive full reaccreditation. ACEJMC concurred with the recommendations for reaccreditation made by the Accrediting Committee and the site team in November 2022.

ACEJMC site team members described the Manship School as a “caring, resilient community dedicated to student success.” They called the school’s student advising excellent; the curriculum responsive, focused and clear; the commitment to DEI demonstrable; the public service profile outstanding; and Student Media “vibrant and well supported.”

Hyojung Park, who served as the Manship School’s associate dean for research and strategic initiatives from 2019 to 2022, led the school’s reaccreditation efforts, which began in October 2021. Park steered the self-study, what ACEJMC calls “the heart of the accrediting process,” and oversaw the site team visit in November. 

A core component of the self-study report is the degree to which the school complies with ACEJMC’s eight standards: mission, governance, administration; curriculum and instruction; assessment of learning outcomes; diversity and inclusiveness; faculty; student services; resources, facilities and equipment; and professional and public service. In its report, the site team described the Manship School’s self-study as “terrific.”

“This acknowledgment is confirmation of what our faculty, staff and students practice every day to make the Manship School truly special,” said Josh Grimm, interim dean of the Manship School. “Seeing their hard work and dedication formally recognized in this way is an exceptional moment for all of us here.”

Following submission of the self-study, an ACEJMC site team visits the school in person to meet faculty, staff, students and administrators. A four-member site team visited the Manship School from Nov. 13-16, 2022:

  • Marie Hardin (chair), dean, Bellisario College of Communications, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Caesar Andrews, professor, Reynolds School of Journalism, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Marianne Barrett, professor, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University
  • Brian Sheehan, professor, Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University

The Manship School was previously reaccredited in fall 2015. Currently, it is one of 119 ACEJMC-accredited programs in journalism and mass communication at colleges and universities in the United States, Puerto Rico and outside the country.

For more information, contact


LSU’s Manship School of Mass Communication ranks among the strongest collegiate communication programs in the country, with its robust emphasis on media and public affairs. It offers undergraduate degrees in public relations, journalism, political communication, digital advertising and pre-law, along with four graduate degree programs: Master of Mass Communication, Ph.D. in Media and Public Affairs, Certificate of Strategic Communication and a dual MMC/Law degree. Like us on Facebook @ManshipSchool, or follow us on Twitter @ManshipSchool, Instagram @ManshipSchool and LinkedIn LSU Manship School of Mass Communication.

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) is the agency responsible for the evaluation of professional journalism and mass communications programs in colleges and universities. There are 119 schools accredited by ACEJMC.