Manship School of Mass Communication awards 164 degrees at Spring 2016 Commencement


On May 13, the Manship School of Mass Communication celebrated Spring 2016 Commencement with graduates, their families and friends in the Maddox Field House. LSU President F. King Alexander welcomed students and guests, and Lance Frank, executive director of communications at CBS News and a 2011 Manship School graduate, spoke about the Manship Loyalty Campaign. Louisiana Commissioner of Administration Jay Dardenne, another Manship School alum, delivered the commencement address. You can watch the ceremony online here.


The Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication was awarded to 153 graduating seniors.


Eleven graduate students received diplomas at the ceremony. The Manship School awarded nine Master of Mass Communication degrees and its first ever graduate certificate in Strategic Communication. Young Kim received a Doctor of Philosophy in Mass Communication and Public Affairs. Dr. Kim was the winner of the 2015 John Maxwell Hamilton Fellowship for Media and Public Affairs Research. He will join the faculty at Marquette University in the fall.


Graduates achieving academic distinction were recognized at the ceremony, including our two University Medalists, JoLena Broussard and Justin DiCharia. The prestigious University Medal is awarded to graduates with perfect 4.0 grade-point averages or above. Both Broussard and DiCharia graduated summa cum laude.



Other Manship School graduates receiving Latin Honors:


Laura Maria Aviles – cum laude

Kaylyn Elizabeth Blosser – cum laude

William Dave Bove – cum laude

Ellen Carlisle Carleton – summa cum laude

Caroline Jean Carson – summa cum laude

Claire Pamela Casserino – summa cum laude

Julia Rodrigues Da Cunna Castro – magna cum laude

Meagan Hanan Collman – magna cum laude

Oanh Quynh Do – summa cum laude

Madeline Elizabeth Engler – summa cum laude

Amy Elizabeth Gonzales – magna cum laude

Christopher Robert Handy – cum laude

Tara Ann Hebert – cum laude

Alyssa Leigh Henke – magna cum laude

Brooke Marie Hotard – summa cum laude

Anna Kathryn Hoz – cum laude

Meagan Nicole Johnson – magna cum laude

Anna Katherine Kalmbach – magna cum laude

Kaitlyn Alexandra King – summa cum laude

Payton Layne Morein – cum laude

Jourdan Elise Moschitta – magna cum laude

Alexis Marie Rebennack – cum laude

Valencia Vashea Richardson – magna cum laude

Erinn Leigh Sala – cum laude

Michelle Nicole Watson – cum laude


The following students were honored as LSU Distinguished Communicators:

Laeh Alexander

JoLena Broussard

Evan Loukadakis

Lindsey Miller

Casey Ochoa

Valencia Richardson

Erinn Sala

Bianca Smith

Lindsey Spillmann

Kristin White