LSU Archival Education Collaborative Receives National Honor


The Archival Education Collaborative, or AEC, founded and coordinated by LSU Library and Information Science Professor Elizabeth Dow, received the 2012 Distinguished Service Award from the Society of American Archivists, or SAA. Dow accepted the award on behalf of the AEC at an awards ceremony during the SAA Annual Meeting earlier this month in San Diego.

The AEC is comprised of five universities: Auburn University, Indiana University, Middle Tennessee State University, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee and LSU. The AEC works together to create rich, diverse archival education programs through distance education. Each of the universities shares resources and courses through video conferences set up in the classroom.

“After coming to LSU in 2001, I quickly realized that my students had time in their schedules to take more electives in archives science than I had time to teach,” said Dow. “I found other archives educators with the same problem, and, funded by a $500,000 grant from the Institute for Museum and Library Services, we worked out agreements for sharing students and elective courses across four campuses in four states. We’ve been offering courses under that model for 10 years.”

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes archival institutions, educational programs, nonprofit organizations or government organizations that have provided outstanding service to the public and made an exemplary contribution to the archives profession.

“We were impressed by the collaboration and dedication displayed by this graduate education initiative over the past decade,” said SAA Distinguished Service Award Subcommittee Chair Heather Soyka.

To find out more about the Archives Education Collaborative, visit

The School of Library & Information Science provides the only accredited master of library & information science degree program in Louisiana. It prepares qualified individuals for positions of responsibility in public and private libraries, archives and other information organizations that provide a variety of services to their communities and contribute to the advancement of knowledge in these fields.

For more information about the School of Library & Information Science, visit

On July 1, six university units realigned to create the College of Human Sciences & Education. Through this reorganization of resources, LSU has created a high-profile college that will have a major impact on the quality of life of the citizens of Louisiana in the areas of social and human sciences. The college consists of the School of Education, the School of Leadership & Human Resource Development, the School of Library & Information Science, the School of Kinesiology, the School of Social Work and the University Laboratory School.