School of Library & Information Science Awards Banquet

Dr. Barry & Janet Woolman03/30/15

The School of Library & Information Science held its annual awards banquet Thursday, March 19, 2015 at the Lod Cook Hotel and Conference Center on LSU Campus.

Janet Woolman received the Outstanding Alumni Award. Woolman is the Executive Director of the Louisiana Environmental Research Center and Associate Professor of LIS at McNeese State University.

“The Library and Information Science degree from Louisiana State University gave me the tools necessary to grow professionally, lead strategic alliance endeavors that further local and national economic development goals, and contribute to sustainable regional growth and advancement,” said Woolman. “The LSU SLIS program provides the foundation that enables students to develop intellectual capital relevant and applicable to any field or setting. The SLIS faculty members engage in mentoring and knowledge transfer that transform the way students think, reason, and participate in a global economy. The SLIS ecosystem promotes collaboration and discovery, and equips students with the confidence to lead, establish new ventures, identify systems for improvement, and articulate solutions.”

The evening included SLIS students’ initiation into Beta Phi Mu, an international library and information science honor society.


  • Jennefer Beyl
  • Kathleen Callaghan
  • Natalie Denby
  • Alyson Gamble
  • Amanda Gautreaux
  • Hang Hoang
  • Jessica Hornbuckle
  • Carrie Moffett
  • Jennifer Oglesby
  • Sara Pic

Following the initiation, SLIS Director Carol Barry congratulated scholarship recipients and announced SLIS updates.

SLIS Scholarship Recipients:

  • Chelsea Arseneault, Chevron MLIS Scholarship
  • Jessica Barrilleaux, Nettie P. Wilson Scholarship
  • Megan Bell, Ollie H. Burns Scholarship
  • Sarah Buras, Suzanne Hughes-Francis Scholarship
  • Steven Buras, Chevron MLIS Scholarship
  • Marlea Donaho, Florrinell F. Morton Scholarship
  • Claire Doré, Alice Dixon Dantro Scholarship
  • Bridget Fuselier, H.W. Wilson Scholarship
  • Stephanie Holloway, Jimmie Hartman Hoover Memorial Scholarship
  • Tina Huettenrauch, Robert D. & Barbara R. Biggs Award
  • Rachelle Kilgo, Mary Marguerite Hanchey Memorial Fellowship
  • Rachel Murdock, Dorothy Beckemeyer Skau Scholarship
  • Amanda Owen, Agnes Corkern Sayers Endowed Fellowship
  • Jonathan Post, Louisiana Library Association Trustees Section Award
  • Terri Singleton, Nettie P. Wilson Scholarship
  • Leslie Smith, Richard Peck Youth Services Scholarship
  • Dana Statton, Jimmie Hartman Hoover Memorial Scholarship
  • Steven Wade, Chevron MLIS Scholarship
  • Dusty Waltner, Chevron MLIS Scholarship

CHSE Dean Damon Andrew served as keynote speaker.


About SLIS

The LSU School of Library & Information Science prepares individuals for positions of responsibility in the field of library and information service and strives to contribute to the advancement of knowledge in the field.


About CHSE

The College of Human Sciences & Education (CHSE) is a nationally accredited division of Louisiana State University. Formed in 2012, CHSE brings together programs and capitalizes on individual strengths to create a dynamic new college that addresses the socially significant issues we face as a state and nation. The College is comprised of the School of Education, the School of Leadership and Human Resource Development, the School of Kinesiology, the School of Library and Information Science, the School of Social Work, and the University Laboratory School. These combined schools offer 8 undergraduate degree programs and 18 graduate programs, enrolling more than 1,900 undergraduate and 977 graduate students. The College is committed to achieving the highest standards in teaching, research, and service and is continually working to improve its programs.