Faculty 

The Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering consists of 35 Faculty Members. The Mechanical Engineering Faculty consist of 15 Full Professors, 5 Associate Professors, 4 Assistant Professors, and 2 Professors of Practice; the Industrial Engineering Faculty consist of 5 Full Professors, 3 Associate Professors, and 1 Assistant Professor. The Department is also served by numerous Adjunct Instructors. Learn more about our Faculty Members by visiting their profile pages.

Aghazadeh, Fereydoun, PE Georgia Gulf Distinguished Professor of Industrial Engineering 3250A Patrick F. Taylor Hall aghazadeh@lsu.edu 225-578-5367
Charalampopoulos, Tryfon T. Ted and Esther Walker Professor and Al East, Jr. Endowed Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3290S Patrick F. Taylor Hall mechar@lsu.edu 225-578-5894
De Queiroz, Marcio

Roy O. Martin Lumber Company Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Coordinator of the Robotics Engineering Program and Minor

3250C Patrick F. Taylor Hall mdeque1@lsu.edu 225-578-8770
Devireddy, Ram

DeSoto Parish Chapter LSU Alumni Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Holder of the Louisiana Land & Exploration Company Professorship

3290P Patrick F. Taylor Hall rdevir1@lsu.edu 225-578-5891
Gartia, Manas Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3290C Patrick F. Taylor Hall mgartia@lsu.edu 225-578-5900
Gilbert, Hunter

Assistant Professor in Mechanical Engineering

Wooley Professorship in Engineering Mechanics

3290F Patrick F. Taylor Hall hbgilbert@lsu.edu 225-578-2409
Gonthier, Keith A.  Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Holder of the Nader Sabbaghian Professorship  3290Q Patrick F. Taylor Hall kgonth1@lsu.edu 225-578-5915
Guo, Shengmin

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Jack Holmes Endowed Prof #2

3290L Patrick F. Taylor Hall sguo2@lsu.edu 225-578-7619 
Harvey, Craig M., PE

Professor of Industrial Engineering

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs of the College of Engineering

3330D Patrick F. Taylor Hall harvey@lsu.edu 225-578-8761
Ikuma, Laura Associate Professor of Industrial Engineering 3290D Patrick F. Taylor Hall likuma@lsu.edu 225-578-5364
Jeon, Hyun Woo Assistant Professor of Industrial Engineering 3290B Patrick F. Taylor Hall hwjeon@lsu.edu 225-578-5905
Khonsari, Michael M.  Dow Chemical Endowed Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3283 Patrick F. Taylor Hall khonsari@lsu.edu 225-578-9192
Knapp, Gerald M., PE Fred B. & Ruth B. Zigler Associate Professor of Industrial Engineering 3240A Patrick F. Taylor Hall gknapp@lsu.edu 225-578-5374
Li, Guoqiang

Major Morris S. & DeEtte A. Anderson Memorial Alumni Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Holder of the John W. Rhea Jr. Professorship in Engineering

3250B Patrick F. Taylor Hall lguoqi1@lsu.edu 225-578-5302
Liao, T. Warren Professor of Industrial Engineering 3240W Patrick F. Taylor Hall ieliao@lsu.edu 225-578-5365
Lu, Fengyuan Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3290E Patrick F. Taylor Hall luf@lsu.edu 225-578-7953
Maris, Nikos Professor of Practice 3240C Patrick F. Taylor Hall nmaris@lsu.edu 225-578-6299
Meng, Wen Jin Raborn Endowed Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3250D Patrick F. Taylor Hall wmeng1@lsu.edu 225-578-5832
Menon, Shyam Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3290A Patrick F. Taylor Hall smenon@lsu.edu 225-578-7279 
Moldovan, Dorel

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Fruehan Family Professorship

3290N Patrick F. Taylor Hall dmoldo1@lsu.edu 225-578-6488
Murphy, Michael C.  Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3272N Patrick F. Taylor Hall murphy@lsu.edu 225-578-5921
Nahmens, Isabelina

Associate Professor of Industrial Engineering

Director of the Industrial Engineering Program

3261C Patrick F. Taylor Hall nahmens@lsu.edu 225-578-0943
Nikitopoulos, Dimitris E., PE

Alexis and Marguerite Voohries Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Richard J. and Katherine J. Distinguished Professor

MIE Department Chair

3261E Patrick F. Taylor Hall medimi@lsu.edu 225-578-5903
Palardy, Geneviève Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3290H Patrick F. Taylor Hall gpalardy@lsu.edu 225-578-3709 
Park, Sunggook

L.R. Daniel Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Director of the Mechanical Engineering Graduate Program

3290M Patrick F. Taylor Hall sunggook@lsu.edu 225-578-0279
Sarker, Bhaba R., PE Elton G. Yates Distinguished Professor of Industrial Engineering 3290T Patrick F. Taylor Hall bsarker@lsu.edu 225-578-5370
Schoegl, Ingmar  Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Holder of the Chevron Professorship in Engineering 3270D Patrick F. Taylor Hall ischoegl@lsu.edu 225-578-4332
Shao, Shuai  Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3290J Patrick F. Taylor Hall  sshao@lsu.edu  225-578-1711
Sinclair, Glenn Groves Hodge Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3270H Patrick F. Taylor Hall sinclair@lsu.edu 225-578-4088
Waggenspack, Warren N.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Holder of the Ned Adler Professorship

Director of the Mechanical Engineering Undergraduate Program

3261D Patrick F. Taylor Hall mewagg@lsu.edu 225-578-5907
Wahab, Muhammad A. Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Holder of the Fromosa Plastics Professorship in Engineering 3270F Patrick F. Taylor Hall mwahab1@lsu.edu 225-578-5823
Wang, Wanjun

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Jack Holmes Endowed Professorship

3290K Patrick F. Taylor Hall wang@lsu.edu 225-578-5807 
Wang, Ying Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering 3290G Patrick F. Taylor Hall ywang@lsu.edu 225-578-8577
Wong, Harris Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Holder of the Fritz & Frances M. Blumer Professorship 3270G Patrick F. Taylor Hall hwong@lsu.edu 225-578-5893

Research Faculty

Jang, Joonyoung Assistant Professor of Research in Mechanical Engineering jyjang@lsu.edu

Emeritus & Notable Former Faculty

Acharya, Sumanta

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering

Held the L. R. Daniels Endowed Professorship and the Francis & Fritz Blumer Professorship

Arnas, A. Özer Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Courter, Robert W.

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering

Held the A. J. M. "Bubba" Oustalet Professorship of Engineering

Daniel, Lawrence R. "Dan"

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering

Former Chairperson of the Department of Mechanical Engineering (1962-1976)

Koubek, Richard

Professor of Industrial Engineering

Held the Bert S. Turner Chair in Engineering

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Lester, Thomas W.

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Former Chairperson of the Department of Mechanical Engineering (1983-1990)

Ram, Yitshak M. (Deceased)

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Held the Wooley Professorship in Mechanical Engineering

Raman, Aravamudhan

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering

Held the Chevron Professorship in Engineering

Sabbaghian, Mehdi

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering

Held the Chevron Professorship in Engineering

Former Chairperson of the Department of Mechanical Engineering (1998-2002)

Woldesenbet, Eyassu

Held the Jack Holmes Professorship of Mechanical Engineering

Former Director of NextGen3 Composites Center

Yannitell, Daniel W.

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering

Held the Fritz and Frances Blumer Professorship of Engineering