Richard Lesieur Awarded Hogstrom Superior Graduate Student Scholarship

Richard Lesieur
Richard Lesieur, recipient of the Kenneth R. Hogstrom Superior Graduate Student Scholarship

LSU’s Medical Physics and Health Physics Program has announced Richard Lesieur as the 2023 recipient of the prestigious Kenneth R. Hogstrom Superior Graduate Student Scholarship. Established in honor of Professor Emeritus Kenneth R. Hogstrom’s outstanding research, scholarship, and mentorship of graduate students, the scholarship supports medical physics graduate students participating in clinical research on radiation oncology at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center.

“On behalf of the LSU Mary Bird Perkins Medical & Health Physics, program I am delighted to announce that Richard Lesieur has been selected to receive the Kenneth R Hogstrom Superior Graduate Student Award. This award will provide critical support for Richard as he completes his research-based MS thesis,” said Wayne Newhauser, Professor, Director, and Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of Medical Physics, LSU-Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Dr. Charles M. Smith Medical and Health Physics Program

Lesieur, a 2021 BS St. Bonaventure University alumnus in engineering physics, describes the importance of this award as he advances his career.

“It is an honor to have received this recognition, and I look forward to completing my project on a Comparison of Log File Based Dose Reconstruction to Measurement for Patient Specific QA, with the financial assistance of this award,” said Lesieur.

Currently Lesieur is working on a thesis project using log files for patient specific IMRT QA for his MS degree, supervised by 2019 LSU PhD alumnus Dr. Christopher Schneider at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. After defending his MS thesis Lesieur intends on pursuing his PhD in medical physics at LSU.

“Richard's project is an important part of ensuring we offer the highest possible quality of care in our leading edge adaptive radiation therapy program. I couldn't be more proud of him and the great work he is doing. As a product of the LSU Medical Physics program myself, Dr. Hogstrom is a mentor of mine, and so for Richard to receive an award bearing his name is truly a full circle moment,” said Dr. Schneider.

As a highly acclaimed educator and researcher, Professor Emeritus Kenneth Hogstrom has had a remarkable impact on practice in the field of radiotherapy. He has a passion for graduate education and considers challenging and mentoring graduate students in their research one of his greatest joys. Throughout his 40-year career, Dr. Hogstrom supervised 20 MS and PhD students, served on the supervisory committees of another 35 students, and supervised 12 postdoctoral fellows.

The LSU medical physics and health physics groups research the applications of radiation technology to the health-care, national defense, and nuclear energy industries. All graduate students in the Medical Physics and Health Physics Program are required to complete a research thesis (MS) or dissertation (PhD) in their field of study.




Mimi LaValle

LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy