ECE Professor among the 2022 Longwell Award Winners

May 30, 2022

BATON ROUGE, LA – The College of Engineering recently presented its Award for Instructor Excellence to five faculty members in recognition of those who make significant contributions to the early years of a student’s journey through quality instruction in entry-level engineering courses.

Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Ramachandran (Vaidy) Vaidyanathan is one of the recipients of this year’s award.

The Award for Instructor Excellence includes a $4,500 one-time cash award and is open to all full-time LSU Engineering instructors or faculty at the rank of assistant professor or higher.

Petroleum engineering alumnus Harry Longwell established the Dean’s Fund for Instructor Excellence to enhance the quality of instruction in entry-level courses in engineering disciplines.

The appointed selection committee used student success rates, departmental support and teaching philosophy as some of the metrics to evaluate this year’s recipients.


Content adapted from