2022 Longwell Award Winners Announced

May 30, 2022

BATON ROUGE, LA – The College of Engineering recently presented its Award for Instructor Excellence to five faculty members in recognition of those who make significant contributions to the early years of a student’s journey through quality instruction in entry-level engineering courses.

The Award for Instructor Excellence includes a $4,500 one-time cash award and is open to all full-time LSU Engineering instructors or faculty at the rank of assistant professor or higher. This year’s recipients are:

  • Bhuvnesh Bharti – associate professor, Cain Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Karim El Kholy – professional in residence, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Amirhosein Jafari – assistant professor, Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management
  • Charles Pecquet – instructor, Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management
  • Ramachandran Vaidyanathan – professor, Division of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Petroleum engineering alumnus Harry Longwell established the Dean’s Fund for Instructor Excellence to enhance the quality of instruction in entry-level courses in engineering disciplines.

The appointed selection committee used student success rates, departmental support and teaching philosophy as some of the metrics to evaluate this year’s recipients. 

Like us on Facebook (@lsuengineering) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuengineering).​


Contact: Joshua Duplechain
Director of Communications
225-578-5706 (o)