Staff

Administration

Name Position Email Expertise
Udeni Balsuriya, BVSc, MS, PhD, FSLCVS LADDL Director and Professor of Virology (PBS) balasuriya1@lsu.edu  More than 25 years' experience. Expertise in molecular virology, viral pathogenesis, and diagnostics.
Maria Mitchell, DVM (LSU 2002) Assistant Director msmitch@lsu.edu  More than 14 years' experience. LADDL veterinary consultant with expertise in microbiology and bacteriology.
Alma Roy, PhD (LSU 2000) Consultant aroy@lsu.edu  More than 20 year's experience. Expertise in diagnostics.
Brandye Smith Quality Assurance Coordinator brandyes@lsu.edu  Quality Assurance
Dee Patel Billing Coordinator dpatel10@lsu.edu   
Jeanette Logsdon Business Office Coordinator jlogsdon@lsu.edu   

 

Assessioning and Receiving

Name Position Email Expertise
Steve Paroczay Accessions Coordinator sparocz@lsu.edu  Receiving

 

Aquatic Disease Laboratory

Name Position Email Expertise
John Hawke, PhD (LSU 1996) Section Head, Professor of Veterinary Microbiology & Parasitology (PBS), Aquatic Diagnostician jhawke1@lsu.edu  More than 30 years' experience. Expertise in fish and shellfish diagnostics, treatment, and health monitoring.

 

Anatomic Pathology

Column 1 Heading Column 2 Heading Column 3 Heading Column 4 Heading
Mariano Carossino, DVM, PhD, DACVM, DACVP Assistant Professor of Veterinary Pathology, Anatomic Pathologist mcarossino1@lsu.edu  More than 10 years' experience. Expertise in viral pathogenesis. Expert bovine diagnostician with expertise in cardiac and pulmonary pathology.
Fabio Del Piero, DVM, PhD, DACVP Professor of Veterinary Pathology, Anatomic Pathologist fdelpiero@lsu.edu  More than 30 years' experience. Internationally recognized expert in equine pathology and expertise in ruminant diagnostics.
Blake Kitchen Necropsy Technican bkitchen1@lsu.edu   
Eric Erwood, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident ericerwood@lsu.edu   
Naomi Falconnier, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident nfalconnier@lsu.edu   
Lauren Guarneri, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident lguarneri1@lsu.edu   
Jeongha Lee, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident jlee282@lsu.edu   

 

Clinical Pathology

Name Position Email Expertise
Shannon Dehghanpir, DVM (LSU 2013), DACVP Section Head, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology (VCS) sdavi15@lsu.edu  More than 9 years' experience. Expertise in clinical pathology and veterinary mycology.
Cindy Berry Medical Technololgist cmberry@lsu.edu   
Catherine Christiensen Medical Technologist ccaugh1@lsu.edu   
Sarah Magee Medical Technologist smagee@lsu.edu   
Suzanne Mouch Medical Technologist smouch1@lsu.edu   
Katie Metcalf, DVM Medical Technologist kmetcalf1@lsu.edu   

 

Endocrinology

Name Position Email  
Kirk Ryan, DVM, DACVIM Section Head, Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine (VCS) karyan@lsu.edu  More than 25 years' experience. Expertise in small animal internal medicine
Frederic Gaschen, Dr.med.vet., Dr.habil., DACVIM, DECVIM Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine (VCS) fgaschen@lsu.edu  More than 40 years' experience. Expertise in small animal internal medicine and gastroenterology
Andrea Johnston, DVM, DACVIM Assistant Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine johnston1@lsu.edu  More than 20 years' experience. Expertise in small animal internal medicine and heptobiliary disease
Harmeet Aulakh, BVSc&AH, MVSc Assistant Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine haulakh@lsu.edu  More than 18 years' experience. Expertise in small animal internal medicine
Frank Andrews, DVM, MS, DACVIM Department Head and Professor, Veterinary Clinical Sciences; Director, Equine Health Studies Program fandrews@lsu.edu  More than 39 years' experience. Expertise in equine internal medicine
Nicole Hazard Research Associate nhazard@lsu.edu   

 

Histology and Immunochemistry

Name Position Email
Kendra Shultz Research Associate shultz11@lsu.edu 
Kayleigh Vicknair Research Associate kvick13@lsu.edu 

 

Information Technology

Name Position Email
Bhavesh Patel Manager, Data Processing/Computer Services bpatel10@lsu.edu 

 

Molecular Laboratory

Name Position Email
Keith Strother Section Head kstrother@lsu.edu 
Tarra Harden Research Associate tharde1@lsu.edu 
Laura Peak Research Associate lpeak1@lsu.edu 

 

Parasitology

Name Position Email Expertise
Brooke Delcambre Research Associate bleibe1@lsu.edu   

 

Toxicology Laboratory

Name Position Email Expertise
Peter Jowett, PhD Section Head, Toxicologist pjowett@lsu.edu  32 years experience. Expertise in analytical toxicology.