INSPIRE Program Awards

The National Science Foundation has announced the first set of awards under its new INSPIRE program. INSPIRE (Integrated NSF Support Promoting Interdisciplinary Research and Education) was established to address some of the most complicated and pressing scientific problems at the intersections of traditional disciplines. Hartmut Kaiser, Geoff Clayton, Juhan Frank, Jan Staff, and Patrick Motl's proposal "STAR: Scalable toolkit for Transformative Astrophysics Research" was one of only 11 awards made nationally.