Jacobsen, Kinesiology Assistant Professor, receives Distinguished Teaching Award from LSU University College


Dr. Dorothy Jacobsen, School of Kinesiology Assistant Professor, Professional Practice, recently received the George H. Deer Distinguished Teaching Award, on behalf of her outstanding teaching at LSU.

“This recognition speaks highly of Jacobsen’s commitment to teaching, serving the Baton Rouge community, and furthering the civic engagement of LSU students. I congratulate her for demonstrating excellence in teaching, learning, discovery, and engagement to positively impact our students and the LSU community,” says Melinda Solmon, Director of the School of Kinesiology. “Dr. Jacobsen is truly deserving of this honor.”

Jacobsen was chosen based on her excellence in teaching, genuine interest in students, outstanding relationships with colleagues, and demonstration of leadership in the promotion of improved instructional programs. Her teaching expertise is in Sport Administration and she serves as the undergraduate program coordinator for the Bachelor of Science degree.

Jacobsen will be honored at the annual University College Spring Awards Reception on Thursday, March 12, 2015, at The Club on the LSU Campus and at the LSU Distinguished Faculty Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at the Lod Cook Alumni Center.

This award was made in the memory of George H. Deer, Ph.D., former Dean of University College (1959-1966) and a distinguished member of the faculty of the College of Education for over 25 years (1940-1966).


About SOK

The LSU School of Kinesiology advances the understanding of physical activity, sport, and health to optimize the quality of life for diverse populations through excellence in teaching, learning, discovery, and engagement.

Visit the School of Kinesiology at lsu.edu/kinesiology


About CHSE
The College of Human Sciences & Education (CHSE) is a nationally accredited division of Louisiana State University. Formed in 2012, CHSE brings together programs and capitalizes on individual strengths to create a dynamic new college that addresses the socially significant issues we face as a state and nation. The College is comprised of the School of Education, the School of Leadership and Human Resource Development, the School of Kinesiology, the School of Library and Information Science, the School of Social Work, and the University Laboratory School. These combined schools offer 8 undergraduate degree programs and 18 graduate programs, enrolling more than 1,900 undergraduate and 977 graduate students. The College is committed to achieving the highest standards in teaching, research, and service and is continually working to improve its programs.