2019-20 Scholarships and Awards

LSU  Awards  Description  Program Recipients
LSU Distinguished Research Master Award Recognizes two LSU faculty members for outstanding career accomplishments in research and scholarship.    Dr. Kam-biu Liu
LSU Rainmaker Emerging Scholar Recognizes two emerging scholars for outstanding research, scholarship and creative activity   Dr. Michael Polito
LSU Communication across the Curriculum Distinguished Communicator Medalist     Devin Comba
LSU Alumni Association Rising Faculty Recognizes assistant professors with an outstanding record of scholarship and public research CC&E

Dr. Z. George Xue

Dr. Stephen Midway

LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award    

Dr. Kanchan Maiti

2018 LSU Foundation Staff Outstanding Service Award    

Tyler Mauney


CC&E  Awards  Description  Dept. Recipients
Joseph Lipsey, Sr. Memorial Scholarship Award Recognizes full-time, DOCS graduate students for his/her research, with preference given to those planning to stay in Louisiana after graduation. Generously donated by Richard and Joseph, Jr, in memory of their father, Joseph Lipsey, Sr. DOCS

Lance Riedlinger

Joseph Lipsey, Jr. & Richard A. Lipsey Excellence in Teaching Award

Recognizes DOCS faculty who excel in teaching, mentoring, professional accomplishments, and contributions to the college.

Generously donated by the families of Richard and Joseph Lipsey, Jr. 


Dr. Stephen Midway
Richard A. & Joseph Lipsey, Jr. Graduate Student Scholarship Incentive Awards

Attracts top-level graduate students with a 3.0 GPA to CC&E.

Generously donated by the families of Richard and Joseph Lipsey, Jr. 



Hannah Beck

Jeanne Bloomberg

Sophie Jurgensen



Allyson Kristan

Zoe Shribman

Patrick Clower

Bert Turner Memorial Scholarship Recognizes full-time CES students based on merit and financial need.

Generously donated by Moo and Martin Svendson, in memory of Moo’s father, Bert Turner


Aaron H. Meyers

Zachary G. Laird

Dr. Theodore B. “Ted” Ford, III Memorial Fellowship Recognizes full-time graduate students studying and researching marine fisheries with a 3.0 GPA Generously donated by the Ford family, in memory of Ted Ford, LSU professor emeritus in marine sciences, and former Assistant Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries DOCS/ENVS Kendall Valentine

William H. Patrick, Jr., PhD Scholarship for Wetlands Expertise

Recognizes a DOCS student with a 3.5 GPA who is studying wetlands.

Generously donated by Dr. Ruth Patrick and the late Dr. William Patrick.


Kendall Valentine

Yadav Sapkota

Gina Groseclose

Candace Chun Memorial Scholarship

Recognizes full-time undergraduates and ENVS graduate students with a 3.25 GPA. This scholarship is renewable and gives special consideration to women and minorities

Generously donated by Dr. Edward Laws, in memory of his sister-in-law


Olivia G. Hurley

Mercedes Pinzon

Andrew L. “Drew” Wilbert Memorial Scholarship

Recognizes full-time CES sophomore, junior, or senior with 3.25 GPA.

Generously donated by family and friends, in memory of Drew Wilbert 


Brendan B. Walsh, III
Anne Atherton Adrian Endowed Scholarship

Recognizes an outstanding junior or senior pursuing a CES degree with a 3.0 GPA who intends to pursue a private sector career

Generously donated by George and Susan Atherton with matching funds from ExxonMobile, in honor of Anne Atherton Adrian


 CES Michael McDonell
Coypu Endowed Scholarship in Coastal Environmental Science for Workforce Development

Full-time CES sophomore, junior, or senior with a 3.00 GPA and career intent to respond to societal and environmental needs of coastal regions

Generously donated by the Coypu Foundation


Denise M. Poveda

CCA/Sealy Family Endowed Scholarship

Recognizes a DOCS graduate student with a 3.0 GPA conducting research on Louisiana estuarine or marine finfish that is primarily related and directly beneficial to recreational fishery

Generously donated by the J. Pollard Sealy, Jr. family and Coastal Conservation Association of Louisiana


Kenneth Erickson

Kuniko Fujisaki Honor Award Recognizes outstanding service as an ENVS Graduate Research Assistant in memory of Ms. Kuniko Fujisaki, a long-time ENVS research associate  ENVS Emily Vebrosky
Dr. Joseph Martinez Memorial Award Recognizes outstanding graduate student research in environmental sciences in memory of Dr. Joe Martinez, the first director of the Institute for Environmental Studies ENVS Kejin Wang
Sustainable Environment Award Recognizes outstanding research thesis that furthers understanding of social and ecological resilience   Volodymyr Mihunov
 Kayne’s Fire Award

Recognizes ENVS teaching assistants who encourages undergraduates’ excitement about science.

Generously donated by Curtis and Kirsten Finley and Dr. Crystal Johnson, in memory of Nathaniel “Kayne” Finley, an LSU student with a passion for science


Baoling Wang
CC&E Undergraduate Scholarship    Recognizes full-time CES student with 3.0 GPA CES John (Jack) N. Green, III

Megan Miller

Denise Poveda

CC&E Outstanding Faculty Research Award Recognizes tenure-track or tenured faculty for exceptional research and scholarly activities, as evidenced by publications, presentations, and grantsmanship. CC&E Dr. Edward Laws
CC&E Outstanding Student Dissertation Award Recognizes an exceptional Ph.D. dissertation DOCS/ENVS

Kiran Upreti

CC&E Outstanding Student Thesis Award Recognizes an exceptional M.S. thesis DOCS/ENVS Alexander Reyes-Avila
CC&E Outstanding Administrative Staff Award  Recognizes exceptional performance from administrative staff  

Charlotte St. Romain

Melanie Spinks

CC&E Graduate Student Symposium Award Acknowledges the quality of graduate student scientific presentations DOCS/ENVS

1st – Alina Spera

2nd –Soroush Sorourian

3rd – Ajit Ghimire

CC&E Undergraduate Student Poster Symposium: Research Award Acknowledges CES student research projects OCS/ENVS 3999 CES

1st—Devin Comba

2nd—Lance Riedlinger

Dean’s Outstanding Service Award Recognizes faculty or staff for their exceptional service   Dana Sanders
Dean’s Outstanding Student Service Award Recognizes a student for outstanding service to the college   Wokil Bam


Tiger Athletic Foundation  Awards  Description  Dept.  Recipients
Tiger Athletic Foundation Student Scholarship Recognizes full-time CES seniors with 3.30 GPA CES

Devin A. Comba

Lindsey R. Lamana

Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award   CC&E

Dr. Robert Rohli

Dr. Crystal Johnson


Special Recognition   Description  Dept.  Recipients

Wes Tunnell Lifetime Recognition for Gulf Science and Conservation

Recognizes lifetime dedication and achievement in support of a healthy and sustainable Gulf of Mexico environment and economy  

Dean Chris D'Elia

ASLO Sustaining Fellow    

Dean Chris D'Elia

2019 Coastal Stewardship Award Recognizes extensive contributions to wetlands restoration and conservation  

Dr. Linda Hooper-Bùi

2018 EnvironMentors Chapter of the Year    

Dr. LInda Hooper-Bùi

Brian Matherne

2018 Tom W. Dutton Scholarship Awards participation and leadership in campus and community service to 10 female students   Kendall Valentine
Excellence in Innovation Recognizes Dr. Portier for his technological solutions to cleaning up hazardous waste sites and oil spills through the years   Dr. Ralph Portier

James D. Watkins Student Award for Excellence in Research

Awarded to five students with outstanding research and oral presentations   Kendall Valentine
Truman Scholarship Finalist This national award recognizes future leaders in public service   Jack Green
Udall Scholar Awards sophomores and juniors for their leadership, public service, and commitment to environmental or Native American matters   Jack Green (2nd time in a row)