Max Goodrich Distinguished Lecture Series

Year Speaker Title of Lecture Institution Honors/Achievements
2016 Alan Stern The Exploration of Pluto by NASA’s New Horizons Southwest Research Institute

Stern has been involved in 24 suborbital, orbital, and planetary space missions, including eight for which he was the mission principal investigator.

Stern has also developed eight scientific instruments for planetary and near-space research missions and has been a guest observer on numerous NASA satellite observatories.

2015 Prof. Peter Zimmerman "Taking the King's Shilling: From studying nuclear terrorism at LSU to briefing the Queen of England" Kings College London Prof. Emeritus of Science & Security &
Joseph A. Burton Forum Award Recipient
2007 Prof. Moses Chan "Einstein's Legacy in Low Temperature Physics: Superfluids and Supersolids" Pennsylvania State University Member, National Academy of Sciences &
recepient of the Fritz London Prize
2006 Prof. Douglas D. Osheroff

"How Advances in Science Are Made?"

Stanford University 

1996 Nobel Laureate in Physics
1998 Prof. John Bahcall "What Have We Learned About Solar Neutrinos?" Institute for Advanced Studies,
Princeton, New Jersey
Member, National Academy of Sciences
1997 Edward C. Stone, Jr. "Mars and the Search for Life Elsewhere" Director, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
California Institute of Technology
Member, National Academy of Sciences
1996 Prof. Kip Thorne

"Space-Time Warps and the Quantum: A Glimpse of the Future"

Feymann Professor of Theoretical Physics,
California Institute of Technology
Member, National Academy of Sciences
1996 Prof. Mildred Dresselhaus "What is so Exciting about Fullerenes and Carbon Nanotubes?" Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1990 National Metal of Science
1995 Prof. Marlan O. Scully "The Weird and Wonderful World of the Microcosmos" Texas A&M University and
Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik
Member, National Academy of Sciences &
1998 Charles H. Townes Award from the Optical Society of America
1994 Prof. Joseph H. Taylor, Jr. "A Layman's Guide to Binary Pulsars and Relativistic Gravity" Princeton University 1993 Nobel Laureate in Physics &
Member, National Academy of Sciences
1992 Prof. Philip Anderson "Is the National Funding System for Science and Technology Rational -- Does it Work?" Princeton University 1977 Nobel Laureate in Physics
1992  Prof. R. E. Smalley "C60 (Buckey Balls) and the Emerging Carbon-Based Nano Technology"   Rice University Member, National Academy of Sciences 
1990  Prof. Arthur L. Schawlow  "Lasers and Their Uses" Stanford University  1981 Nobel Laureate in Physics 
1989  Prof. Maarten Schmidt "Quasars as Beacons in the Universe"   California Institute of Technology  Member, National Academy of Sciences
1987 Prof. William A. Fowler   "The Quest for the Origin of the Elements" California Institute of Technology 1983 Nobel Laureate in Physics
1986 Prof. Edward M. Purcell "Life in a Magnetic Field" Harvard University 952 Nobel Laureate in Physics

Back to top