Faculty

Michael S. Barton

PhD, University at Albany, State University of New York
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: mbarto3@lsu.edu
Office: 139 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Criminology; urban sociology; gentrification and neighborhood change

 

Sarah Becker

PhD, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Associate Professor of Sociology and Women's and Gender Studies
Phone: 225 578 7243
Email: sbecker@lsu.edu
Office: 141 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Intersectionality; criminology; ethnography; communities

 

Dana Berkowitz

PhD, University of Florida
Associate Professor of Sociology and Women's and Gender Studies
Phone: 225 578 2619
Email: dberk@lsu.edu
Office: 133 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Gender; bodies; sexualities; qualitative methods; feminist and social theory


Troy C. Blanchard

PhD, Louisiana State University
Professor of Sociology
Associate Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Phone: 225 578 8273
Email: troy@lsu.edu
Office: 132 Hodges Hall
Research Interests: Social inequality; social demography; applied sociology

 

Chantel Chauvin

PhD, Louisiana State University
Instructor of Sociology
Email: cdufre3@lsu.edu
Office: 137 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Violent crime, delinquency, gender and crime, gun violence

 

Skylar C. Gremillion

PhD, Louisiana State University
Instructor of Sociology
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Phone: 225 578 1117
Email: sgremi3@lsu.edu
Office: 143 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Gender; law; inequality; online communications

 

Yoshinori Kamo

PhD, University of Washington
Professor of Sociology
Chair of Department
Phone: 225 578 5353
Email: kamo@lsu.edu
Office: 114 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Work and family; social inequality; psychological well-being 

 

Rhiannon A. Kroeger

PhD, Ohio State University
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 1645
Email: rkroeger@lsu.edu

Office: 108 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Families and health; family formation; social demography; race, class, and gender

 

Matthew R. Lee

PhD, Louisiana State University
Professor of Sociology
Vice Provost for Academic Programs and Support Services
Phone: 225 578 1786
Email: mlee@lsu.edu
Office: 156 Thomas Boyd Hall
Research Interests: Criminology; public health

 

Lori L. Martin

PhD, University at Albany, State University of New York
Associate Professor of Sociology and African and African American Studies
Director of Graduate Studies
Phone: 225 578 5814
Email: lorim@lsu.edu
Office: 106B Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Race and ethnicity; wealth inequality; asset poverty; sociology of sport

 

Michelle A. Meyer

PhD, Colorado State University
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 1115
Email: mmeyer@lsu.edu
Office: 18 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Disaster; environment; environmental justice; community; social stratification

 

Heather A. O’Connell

PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 4032
Email: hoconnell@lsu.edu
Office: 20 Stubbs
Research Interests: Race and ethnicity; social stratification; spatial demography

 

Robert P. O’Neil

PhD, Louisiana State University
Instructor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 1997
Email: roneil@lsu.edu
Office: 13 Stubbs
Research Interests: Social Interaction; theory; sex and gender

 

Heather M. Rackin

PhD, Duke University
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 5123
Email: hrackin@lsu.edu
Office: 125 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Family formation and fertility; social inequality; social demography


Mark J. Schafer

PhD, Indiana University
Associate Professor 
Phone: 225 578 5032
Email: mschaf1@lsu.edu
Office: 110A Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Sociology of education; comparative and global sociology; social inequality; rural sociology


Edward S. Shihadeh

PhD, Pennsylvania State University
Professor
Phone: 225 578 1635
Email: edsoc@lsu.edu
Office: 107 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Criminology; urban sociology; race, ethnicity, and immigration


Wesley M. Shrum, Jr.

PhD, Princeton University
Professor of Sociology
Email: shrum@lsu.edu
Office: 105B Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Technology (Video, Internet, Mobiles); Africa/Asia


Tim Slack

PhD, Pennsylvania State University
Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 1116
Email: slack@lsu.edu
Office: 104A Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Social stratification and poverty; community and environment; social demography

 

Ginger Stevenson

PhD, Louisiana State University
Instructor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 5347
Email: gsteven@lsu.edu
Office: 119 Stubbs Hall 
Research Interests: Criminology; interpersonal violence; deviance

 

Samuel Stroope

PhD, Baylor University
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 0188
Email: sstroope@lsu.edu
Office: 105A Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Sociology of health and illness; sociology of religion

 

Jose Torres

PhD, Virginia Tech
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 757-581-3375
Email: jtorres@lsu.edu
Office: 117 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Criminology; social control; race and ethnicity; policing

  

Matthew A. Valasik

PhD, University of California-Irvine
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 0144
Email: mvalasik@lsu.edu
Office: 17B Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Criminology; gangs; policing; spatial analysis; social networks

 

Mark H. Walker

PhD, University of Iowa
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 1114
Email: mwalk67@lsu.edu

Office: 11 Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Social psychology; social networks; self and identity; mental health


Frederick Weil

PhD, Harvard University
Associate Professor of Sociology
Phone: 225 578 1140
Email: fweil@lsu.edu
Office: 17C Stubbs Hall
Research Interests: Political sociology; comparative-historical; community and urban; disasters;
poverty and grassroots mentoring; survey research; photo/video ethnography; geospatial analysis