Dr. James M. Coleman

CEE Hall of Distinction: 2003

James Coleman received his Ph.D. in geology from Louisiana State University in 1966. He was a Boyd Professor for the Coastal Studies Institute of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College and formally served as Executive Vice Chancellor of LSU. Dr. Coleman’s research interests focused on relationships between process, form, and sedimentary characteristics, especially in deltaic and offshore regions. He is the former chairman of the Marine Board, a member of the Ocean Sciences Board of the National Research Council, a member of the National Academy of Engineering since 1990, a recently elected member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, and awarded the Kapitsa Medal of Honor for his contributions to the field of Petroleum Sciences. In 2001, he was appointed as a member of the Presidential U. S. Ocean Policy Commission.

Few of the many awards that he received are listed below:

  • Awarded Honorary Life Membership in the American Association Petroleum Geologists, 2001
  • Awarded the Einstein Medal by Russian Academy Natural Sciences for contributions to science
  • Awarded the Doctor Honoris Causa in Earth sciences by the International University of Dubna, Moscow, Russia for achievements in the field of Earth Sciences, August, 2000
  • Designated LaBorde Chair of Marine Science, March, 2000

He served on numerous National Committees and Boards. Few of them are listed below:

  • Named by Governor Foster to Advisory Commission on Coastal Restoration and Conservation, ’02-‘08
  • Named by President Bush to serve on U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy, 2001 (elected chair of Research, Education, and Marine Operations Committee)
  • Member of Ocean Studies Board of the National Research Council – 1999-2003
  • Chair of the Engineering & Technology Subcommittee – 1999-2002
  • Elected to Executive Committee of Ocean Studies Board – 2000-2003
  • Minerals Management Service Advisory Board Outer Continental Shelf Scientific Committee: Vice Chair - 1995-1997; Chair Elect - 1998; Chair – 1998-2000
  • Appointed by Secretary Interior to permanent discretionary membership, 2000 Steering Committee, International Workshop on Offshore Lease Abandonment and Platform Disposal, April 1996

James Coleman