People

Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Marco Altamirano Marco Altamirano Instructor maltamirano@lsu.edu
316 Coates
(225) 578-2638 
 
Chris Blakley Chris Blakley Instructor blakley@lsu.edu
309 Coates
(225) 578-5158
 
Jon Cogburn Jon Cogburn

Associate Professor;
Director of Graduate Studies

jcogbu1@lsu.edu
105 Coates
(225) 578-2272
 
Raff Donelson Raff Donelson Assistant Professor rdonelson1@lsu.edu
430 Law Center
(225) 578-6411
Metaethics, legal philosophy, pragmatism, criminal law
Deborah Goldgaber Deborah Goldgaber Assistant Professor dgoldgaber@lsu.edu
118E Himes
(225) 578-7399
Contemporary French phil., 19th-20th cen. continental, feminist phil., phenomenology
 Ken Levy

Ken Levy

Associate Professor (Affiliate)

ken.levy@law.lsu.edu
420 Law Center
(225) 578-7365
Criminal theory, ethics, free will and responsibility, paradoxes
Rachel Parsons Rachel Parsons Assistant Professor rparsons@lsu.edu
118 Coates
(225) 578-0790
Ancient Greek philosophy 
Charles H. Pence Charles H. Pence Assistant Professor;
Executive Director, LSU Institute for Ethics
cpence@lsu.edu
110 Coates
(225) 578-5508
Philosophy and history of science, especially evolutionary biology
John Protevi John Protevi Professor (Affiliate) protevi@lsu.edu
408 Hodges
(225) 578-6664
20th cen. French phil. (Foucault and Deleuze), enaction in cognitive and life science
François Raffoul François Raffoul Professor;
Section Head
fraffo1@lsu.edu
106 Coates
(225) 578-2278
Contemporary continental philosophy, contemporary French thought
Jeffrey Roland Jeffrey Roland Associate Professor jroland@lsu.edu
108 Coates
(225) 578-2388
Philosophy of mathematics, epistemology, philosophy of science, logic
Michael L. Rolfsen Michael L. Rolfsen Adjunct mrolfsen@brclinic.com
(225) 246-4514
Practicing physician at Baton Rouge Clinic; biomedical ethics
Husain Sarkar Husain Sarkar Professor husains@lsu.edu
113 Coates
(225) 578-2277
Descartes, Kant, ethics, and philosophy of science
Gregory Schufreider Gregory Schufreider Professor;
Chair
gschufr@lsu.edu
116 Coates
(225) 578-2275
 
Mary Sirridge Mary Sirridge Professor;
Director of Undergraduate Studies
pisirr@lsu.edu 
112 Coates
(225) 578-2276
 

 

Philosophy M.A. Students

The office for all teaching assistants is 312 Coates.

Name Contact
Irfan Alam ialam1@lsu.edu 
Jasmine J. Brown jbro238@lsu.edu 
Dolores Cowie dcowie1@lsu.edu
George B. Flynn gflynn1@lsu.edu 
Britton W. Frost bfrost5@lsu.edu 
Shaofei Han shan6@lsu.edu
Joe M. Larios jlario1@lsu.edu 
Megan R. Netherland mnethe1@lsu.edu 
Dylan O'Brien dobrie5@lsu.edu
Ginez A. Sanchez Arias gsanch4@lsu.edu 
Casey Spinks cspink1@lsu.edu
Stacy Lee Stingle ssting1@lsu.edu 
Michael F. Wickham mwickh2@lsu.edu 
Stephen Wolfe swolfe5@lsu.edu

 

Staff

Photo Name Position Contact
Margaret Toups Margaret Toups Administrative Coordinator 4 mtoups2@lsu.edu
102 Coates
(225) 578-2220 
 Lori Edwards

Lori Edwards

Administrative Coordinator 3

ledwa28@lsu.edu
102 Coates
(225) 578-2220