Student Awards Ceremony

About the Event

This year, we were excited to honor our student award winners with a ceremony at the French House. Dr. Catherine Jacquet (History, WGSS) and Dr. Rosemary Peters-Hill (French Studies) hosted the event, with a virtual appearance by Ethics Institute Director Dr. Deborah Goldgaber (Philosophy, WGSS). Eighteen members of campus attended, including student award winners and their nominators. The event included a candle lighting to honor survivors of sexual assault, short speeches from the hosts, nominators, and awardees, and a short reception at the conclusion of the ceremony. 

The Cecil L. Eubanks Award for the Study of Ethics 

Named after Dr. Cecil Eubanks, the founding Director of the LSU Ethics Institute, this endowed scholarship prize honors an undergraduate or graduate student who contributes to the study of ethics.

This year's winner of the Cecil L. Eubanks Award for the Study of Ethics is Eta Nurulhady (English). Eta was nominated by her advisor Dr. Christopher Rovee for her work on her graduate dissertation, which focuses on grieving and loss in British Romantic literature. 

Eta Nurulhady, right, and Dr. Christopher Rovee

Eta Nurulhady, right, and her nominator, Dr. Christopher Rovee


The LSU Inspire Award

The LSU Inspire Award honors students or recent alumni who have engaged in exemplary ethical conduct by helping another individual or group, standing up for a cause or belief, or otherwise exhibiting extraordinary ethical leadership. 

This year, we honored undergraduate students who have fought for the University to recognize and redress the harms of sexual violence on this campus.

2021 Inspire Award Winners

Miranda Albarez, HSS, MDA

Annie Sheehan-Dean, HSS 

Dr. Catherine Jacquet, Annie Sheehan-Dean, and Dr. Rosemary Peters-Hill

Dr. Catherine Jacquet, Annie Sheehan-Dean, and Dr. Rosemary Peters-Hill 










Special Commendation to:

Julia Aucoin, HSS 2021, Law School

Alison Redmann, HSS

Skylar Shipley, HSS


Congratulations to all of our award winners and honorees. It is a joy to honor students doing such important work on campus with these awards. 


Award winners

Julia Aucoin, Alison Redmann, Miranda Albarez, Annie Sheehan-Dean, Skylar Shipley, and Eta Nurulhady (Left to right, back to front)