Rebecca Melanson Wins an AAUW Eleanor Earle Memorial Scholarship and an Sarah Bradley Tyson Memorial Fellowship

Ms. Rebecca Melanson, PhD candidate under the direction of Jong Hyun Ham in the Department of Plant Pathology & Crop Physiology, was the recipient of one of two 2013 Eleanor Earle Memorial American Association of University Women (AAUW) scholarships from the Baton Rouge Chapter of the AAUW awarded to female doctoral students pursuing degrees at either Louisiana State University or Southern University.  She received the award at a campus study luncheon of the AAUW Baton Rouge Chapter on April 18, 2013.  Melanson also received one of four 2013 Sarah Bradley Tyson Memorial Fellowships awarded to graduate students by the Women’s National Farm and Garden Association, Inc.  Melanson is currently working to complete her PhD research on the “Characterization of a novel negative LysR-type transcriptional regulatory factor of toxoflavin production in Burkholderia glumae, the causal agent of bacterial panicle blight of rice” for which she received a USDA AFRI-NIFA Predoctoral Fellowship Grant in 2012 and plans to graduate in 2014.