Faculty and Staff | LSU Department of Plant Pathology and Crop Physiology

Faculty and Staff

World-renowned and award-winning faculty members hold research, extension and teaching appointments. These three pillars are fundamental to assist farmers, crop consultants and homeowners in the management of plant diseases and to educate and prepare outstanding plant pathologists and crop physiologists.

  Name Contact Areas of Research
Dr. Zhiyuan Chen  Zhi-Yuan Chen
A412 Life Sciences Annex
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-7850
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: ZChen@agcenter.lsu.edu  
  • Host resistance
  • Host-fungus interactions in soybean and maize
Dr. Chris Clark Christopher A. Clark
A443 Life Sciences Annex
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-1381
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: CClark@agcenter.lsu.edu  
  • Sweet potato pathology
  • Disease Control
Dr. Lawrence Datnoff  Lawrence E. Datnoff
Professor & Head

306 Life Sciences,
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-1464
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: LDatnoff@agcenter.lsu.edu


 Dr. Vinson Doyle Vinson Doyle
Associate Professor
324 Life Sciences Bldg.
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-4052
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: VDoyle@agcenter.lsu.edu
  • Mycology
  • Systematics
  • Population genetics
  • Phylogenomics
Dr. Ely Oliveira-Garcia

Ely Oliveira-Garcia
Assistant Professor

A414 Life Science Annex
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-4621
Fax: 225-578-1415
Email: EOliveiraGarcia@agcenter.lsu.edu

  • Plant-pathogen interactions
  • Fungal genetics
  • Fungal effector biology
  • Disease management
 Dr. Jong Ham Jong Hyun Ham
460 Life Sciences Bldg.
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-6798
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: jham@agcenter.lsu.edu
  • Phytobacteriology 
  • Disease Control
  • Genetics
Dr. Jeff Hoy  Jeffrey W. Hoy
A445 Life Sciences Annex
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-1392
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: JHoy@agcenter.lsu.edu
  • Sugarcane Pathology
  • Pathogen Detection and Identification
  • Integrated Pest Management
  • Host Plant Resistance
Guy "Boyd" Padgett

Guy "Boyd" Padgett

Dean Lee Research & Extension Center
8208 Tom Bowman Drive
Alexandria, LA 71302
Phone: 318-427-4424
Fax: 318-473-6503
Email: BPadgett@agcenter.lsu.edu

  • Plant pathology
  • Disease management in row crops
  • Epidemiology
  • Integrated Pest Management
Dr. Greg Pettis 

Gregg S. Pettis
Adjunct Professor


624 Life Sciences Bldg.
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-2798
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: gpettis@lsu.edu


 Dr. Paul "Trey" Price Paul "Trey" Price
Associate Professor
Macon Ridge Research Station
212A Macon Ridge Road
Winnsboro, LA 71295
Phone: 318-435-2157
Fax: 318-435-2133
Mobile: 318-235-9805
Email: PPrice@agcenter.lsu.edu

Agronomic Crops

Dr. Jonathan Richards

Jonathan Richards
Assistant Professor

322 Life Science Building
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-3479
Fax: 225-578-1415
Email: JRichards@agcenter.lsu.edu

  • Fungal biology
  • Molecular plant-microbe interactions
  • Genomics
  • Host-Parasite Interactions
  • Mycology, Genetics
  • Molecular Biology
 Dr. Raghuwinder Singh Raghuwinder (Raj) Singh
Associate Professor &
Director, Plant Diagnostic Clinic
434 Life Sciences Bldg
Baton Rouge, LA 70894
Phone: 225-578-4562
Fax: 225-578-1415
Email: RSingh@agcenter.lsu.edu
  • Plant Health Diagnostics (biotic and abiotic stresses)
  • Pathogen Detection and Identification (molecular and conventional)
  • Horticulture Pathology Extension (fruit and nut, industrial hemp, ornamental, vegetable, trees and turfgrass)
  • Integrated Pest and Disease Management
Dr. Sara Thomas-Sharma Sara Thomas-Sharma
Assistant Professor

426 Life Sciences Building
Baton Rouge LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-8537
Fax: 225-578-1415
Email: sthomassharma@agcenter.lsu.edu

Field Crop Pathology

Dr. Rodrigo Valverde  Rodrigo A. Valverde
A416 Life Sciences Annex
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-1384
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: RValverde@agcenter.lsu.edu
  • Virolology
  • Pathogen Detection and Identification
Dr. Tristan Watson Tristan Watson
Assistant Professor
A415 Life Sciences Annex
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-1387
Fax: 225-578-1415
E-mail: TWatson@agcenter.lsu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Gerard T. Berggren, Professor Emeritus

Marc A. Cohn, Professor Emeritus

Kenneth E. Damann, Jr., Professor Emeritus

Gordan Holcomb, Professor Emeritus

Clayton A. Hollier, Professor Emeritus

Edward C. McGawley, Professor Emeritus

Charles Overstreet, Professor Emeritus

Research / Extension Associates, Post Docs and Researchers

Inderjit Kaur Barphagha, Research Associate

Timothy Burks, Extension Associate

Cathy DeRobertis, Research Associate

Monique de Souza, Research Associate

Yenjit Raruang, Research Associate

Joseille Rezende, Research Associate

Clark Robertson, Research Associate

Carolyn Savario, Research Associate

Elaisa Tubana, Research Associate


Robert M. Carver, Business Manger

Dolores Dyess, Administrative Coordinator 3

Charletta Warr, Accounting Technician