Dr. Robert Hogan, Professor of Political ScienceDr. Robert E. Hogan 

Department Chair and Professor

PhD: Rice University
Office: 240-B-1 Stubbs Hall
Phone: 225-578-3217
Fax: 225-578-2540
Email: rhogan1@lsu.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Area of Interest

Dr. Robert Hogan studies American Politics in the states.  His research areas include elections, representation, political parties, and interest groups.

Selected Publications

Hogan, Robert E. 2010. "Candidate Gender and Voter Support in State Legislative Elections," Journal of Women, Politics, and Policy, Vol. 31, No. 1: 44-66.

Hogan, Robert, Branwell DuBose Kapeluck, Laurence W. Moreland, and Robert P. Steed. "A Paler Shade of Red: The 2008 Presidential Election in the South." (with Eunice H. McCarney, an LSU undergraduate student). The University of Arkansas Press.

Hogan, Robert E. 2008. “Sex and the Statehouse: The Effects of Gender on Legislative Roll Call Voting.” Social Sciences Quarterly 89 (4); 955-68.

Hamm, Keith E. and Robert E. Hogan. 2008. “Campaign Election Laws and Candidacy Decisions in State Legislative Elections.” Political Research Quarterly 61(3); 458-467.

Hogan, Robert E. 2008. “Policy Responsiveness and Incumbent Reelection in State Legislatures,” American Journal of Political Science 52 (4); 858-73.


POLI 2051  American Government
POLI 2052  Honors American Politics
POLI 4015  American State Politics and Policy Making
POLI 4032  Interest Groups in American Politics
POLI 7900  Seminar in American Politics
POLI 7903  Special Topics in American Politics: Political Parties and Interest Groups
POLI 7915  Seminar in State Politics and Policy Making 


Professor Robert E. Hogan (Ph.D. Rice University, 1998) studies American Politics in the states. His research areas include campaigns and elections, representation, political parties, and interest groups. His most recent projects examine candidate decision making, election competition, and representation in the state legislatures.  His published work has appeared in a variety of academic journals including the American Journal of Political Science, Journal of Politics, Legislative Studies Quarterly, and Environmental Politics. He currently serves as chair of the Political Science Department.