2024 Longwell Award Winners Announced

May 29, 2024

Karsten Thompson, Kevin McPeak, Charles Pecquet, and Marwa Hassan

BATON ROUGE, LA – The College of Engineering recently presented its Award for Instructor Excellence to two faculty members in recognition of those who make significant contributions to the early years of a student’s journey through quality instruction in entry-level engineering courses.

The award includes a $4,500 one-time cash award and is open to all full-time LSU Engineering instructors or faculty at the rank of assistant professor or higher. This year’s recipients are:

  • Kevin McPeak – associate professor, Cain Department of Chemical Engineering.
  • Charles Pecquet – instructor, Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management.

Petroleum Engineering alumnus Harry Longwell established the Dean’s Fund for Instructor Excellence to enhance the quality of instruction in entry-level courses in engineering disciplines.

The appointed selection committee used student success rates, departmental support, and teaching philosophy as some of the metrics to evaluate this year’s recipients.

Like us on Facebook (@lsuengineering) or follow us on X (formerly Twitter) and Instagram (@lsuengineering).​       


Contact: Joshua Duplechain
Director of Communications