LSU Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Holds Awards and Initiation Ceremony

May 13, 2022

Photo of Matt Lee and Louay MohammadThe LSU Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently held its 2022 Awards and Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, April 19, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium in the College of Coast and Environment building. LSU Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Louay Mohammad, chapter president, presided over the ceremony. The guest keynote speaker was Matt Lee, LSU interim executive vice president and provost. 

Seventy-one students, faculty members, and instructors became members this year.

The following students received awards at the ceremony: Outstanding Junior - Emilie Ravain; Outstanding Masters Student - Maya C. Tate; Outstanding Terminal Degree Student - Irene Marti Gil; and 2022 National Graduate Fellowship Nominee - Sanaa Alam.

The following faculty members received awards: Non-Tenured Faculty Award winners - Emmanouil Chatzopoulos (Department of Physics and Astronomy); Daniel Holstein (Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences); Youn 'Lily' Kim (School of Social Work); Allison Young (Department of Art History).

Outstanding Instructor winners were Karim El Kholy (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering) and Jason M. Wolfe (Department of History).


Contact: Joshua Duplechain
Director of Communications