2016 Recipient of the Hannelore and Joahnnes Storz Travel Award

Abigail Fish, 2016 recipient of the Hannelore and Joahnnes Storz Travel Award


The department of Pathobiological Sciences (PBS) congratulates the 2016 recipient of the Hannelore and Joahnnes Storz Travel Award which provides financial support to PBS PhD students to participate at scientific meetings. The award program was launched in July 2015 as part of the Hannelore and Johannes Stortz Graduate Student Excellence Fund established that year thanks to a generous endowment from the Storz family.

This year's recipient is Abigail Fish who will give an oral presentation at the 28th Meeting of the American Society of Rickettsiology, at Big Sky, MT. She will present her talk "Elucidation of the Biochemical Interaction between Rickettsia conorii Adr1 and Human Host Vitronectin."


Johannes Storz, DVM, PhD, former head of the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology (now PBS), was an accomplished scientist who, among other distinctions, was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Prize for his groundbreaking work on Chlamydia. Dr. Storz worked at the LSU SVM for 19 years, and during his tenure, he developed a vaccine for bovine respiratory tract disease.