LSU SVM Announces Recipients of the Inaugural Hannelore and Joahnnes Storz Travel Awards

BATON ROUGE, LA - The Department of Pathobiological Sciences (PBS) at the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine (SVM) congratulates Lisa D. Brown, Brent Stanfield and Nagarjuna R. Cheemarla, the inaugural recipients of the new Hannelore and Joahnnes Storz Travel Award, which provides financial support to PBS PhDstudents to participate at scientific meetings.
The award program was launched in July 2015 as part of the Hannelore and Johannes Stortz Graduate Student Excellence Fund, thanks to a generous endowment from the Storz family.


Johannes Storz, DVM, PhD, former head of the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology (now PBS), was an accomplished scientist who, among other distinctions, was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Prize for his groundbreaking work on Chlamydia. Dr. Storz worked at the LSU SVM for 19 years, and during his tenure, he developed a vaccine for bovine respiratory tract disease.


Lisa D. Brown will present her work, "Novel Transmission Routes for Flea-Borne Rickettsial Agents," at the 64th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, Philadelphia, Penn.;


Brent Stanfield will present his work entitled "Bovine Herpesvirus Type-1 Glycoprotein K (gK) Interacts with UL20 and is Required for Infectious Virus Production" at the 40th International Herpesvirus Workshop, in Boise, Idaho;


Nagarjuna R. Cheemarla will present with his talk, "Regulation of Respiratory Paramyxovirus-Induced Disease," at the 34th Annual Meeting of the American Society for Virology, in London, Ontario, Canada.