LSU Veterinary School inducts new honor society members

For Immediate Release: February 27, 2020

Inductees into Phi Zeta (alphabetical by state and then city) are from (Arkansas) Little Rock and White Hall; (Georgia) Gainesville; (Louisiana) Abita Springs, Baton Rouge, Belle Chasse, Houma, Mandeville, Metairie, Napoleonville, New Orleans, Pineville, and Slidell; (New York) Altamont; (Pennsylvania) New Sewickley; (South Carolina) Mount Pleasant; (Texas) Argyle; and (Virginia) Midlothian.

BATON ROUGE, LA—On February 13, twenty-seven people were inducted into the Tau Chapter of the Society of Phi Zeta at the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine. Phi Zeta is a national Veterinary Honor Society, the object of which is to recognize and promote scholarship and research in matters pertaining to the welfare and diseases of animals. The Tau Chapter of Phi Zeta was installed on March 30, 1977, with Dr. C.W. Titkemeyer as Chapter President. Phi Zeta is the abbreviation of the Greek word “Philozoi,” which means “love of animals.”

Colin Mitchell, BVMS, DACVS, professor in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences and president of the Tau Chapter, presided over the induction ceremony.

For third-year veterinary students (Class of 2021), the top 10 percent of the class are selected for Phi Zeta induction. Those students (with their hometowns listed) were Melinda Cindea (Gainesville, Ga.); Jordan Malatesta (White Hall, Ark.); Lillian Miller (Midlothian, Va.); Brittany Parker (Pineville, La.); Rebecca Parsiola (Belle Chasse, La.); Jacqueline Post (Little Rock, Ark.); Brandon Thibodaux (Houma, La.); and Angela Yoon (Slidell, La.).

For fourth-year veterinary students (Class of 2020), the top 25 percent of the class are selected for Phi Zeta induction. Those students (with hometowns listed) were Madilyn Garcia (Abita Springs, La.); Lyndsy Gazda (New Sewickley, Pa.); Elizabeth Gravette (New Orleans,La.); Sarah Ainsworth Hendry (Napoleonville, La.); Michael Hitt (Altamont, N.Y.); Lauren Hubicz (Baton Rouge, La.); Rebekah Joyner (Mandeville, La.); Kortney Kuhl (Argyle, Texas); Katherine Lamont (Mandeville, La.); Sarah Mercer (Mount Pleasant, S.C.); Maegan Pela (Metairie, La.); Blakeley Ramirez (New Orleans, La.); Zachary Reyna (Little Rock, Ark.); Laurel Upton (Mandeville, La.); and Claire Zotkiewicz (New Orleans, La.).

Graduate students and residents (with hometowns listed) inducted into Phi Zeta were Jacqueline E. Elliott, DVM (Crittenden, Ky.), anatomic pathology resident; Lawrence Kadic, MVetMed, equine surgery resident (Diest, Belgium); and Linda Paul, DVM (Lake Jackson, Texas), equine medicine resident.

The faculty member inducted into Phi Zeta was Courtney Nelson, DVM, MS, DACVP (Rockford, Ill.), assistant professor of clinical pathology in Veterinary Clinical Sciences.

Phi Zeta was originated in 1925 by a group of senior veterinary students in the New York State Veterinary College at Cornell University.  With the assistance of a group of faculty members, including the Dean of the College, Dr. Veranus A. Moore, the Society was formally organized, and Dean Moore was elected as the first president in 1929 at a meeting in Detroit, Michigan.

The LSU School of Veterinary Medicine is one of only 30 veterinary schools in the U.S. and the only one in Louisiana. The LSU SVM is dedicated to improving the lives of people and animals through education, research and service. We teach. We heal. We discover. We protect.

Media Contact                                                                                                                                                                                    

Ginger Guttner, APR         

Communications Manager      

LSU School of Veterinary Medicine                   

O: 225-578-9922 C: 225-772-8957