LSU School of Veterinary Medicine announces 2015 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year

For Immediate Release:  February 11, 2016

BATON ROUGE, LA —The LSU School of Veterinary Medicine is pleased to announce the 2015 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year, Egeenee Daniels, DVM (LSU SVM 1986). Dr. Daniels was recognized at the Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association (LVMA) Alumni and Friends Reception hosted as part of the LVMA’s Winter Meeting at the Hilton Hotel in Shreveport, La. on January 30, 2016.


Dr. Daniels received his DVM from the LSU SVM in 1986. He practiced veterinary medicine for 18 months and started his PhD in epidemiology before beginning his career in laboratory animal medicine. Since then, he has had an extremely successful career as the Attending Veterinarian and Director of Laboratory Animal Medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth, Texas, where he has led this department for over 25 years. He is also the Attending Veterinarian for Texas Woman’s University, the University of Texas at Dallas, the University of Texas at Arlington, Texas Christian University, the University of North Texas, and the Baylor Research Institute.


Dr. Rhonda Daniels, Egeenee’s wife, received her DVM from the LSU SVM in 1990, and his brother, Dr. Shawn Daniels, received his DVM from the LSU SVM in 1994. Egeenee and Rhonda have two children, A.J. (18) and Endrea (16).


Dr. Daniels has served as a volunteer for Big Brothers/Big Sisters of America and the Fort Worth Zoo and currently volunteers as for his church and for Resurrection III (Aid for Recovering Drug Addicts and Homeless). He was named to Who’s Who in Veterinary Science and Medicine in 1992, received the Southern University’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 1998 and has written many publications directly related to his profession.


Dr. Daniels also participates in a multitude of other professional activities, including membership on the Council on Accreditation for the Association of Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International (AAALAC), and is President of the Texas Society of Biomedical Research. He previously served as Chairman to the Legislative Committee for the Texas Branch of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science.


The Distinguished Alumnus Award is a means to recognize alumni of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine for outstanding professional and personal achievements. Any veterinarian who received the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from Louisiana State University is eligible for the award. Candidates will be recognized for their accomplishments in veterinary medicine and/or contributions to the community through public service.


Previous award recipients include:

Dr. Robert Lewis (LSU SVM 1977), Elgin, Texas, 1990 recipient;

Drs. Larry McCaskill (LSU SVM 1981), Oscar, La., Mark Mikelonis (LSU SVM 1988), Covington, La., and Jim Floyd (LSU SVM 1981), Pittsboro, N.C., 1991 recipients;

Dr. Allen J. Roussel (LSU SVM 1977), College Station, Texas, 1992 recipient;

Dr. Mike Strain (LSU SVM 1983), Covington, La., 2003 recipient;

Dr. Alfred Stevens (LSU SVM 1979), Baton Rouge, La., 2004 recipient;

Dr. Gregory Rich (LSU SVM 1985), Kenner, La., 2005 recipient;

Dr. Mary Boudreaux (LSU SVM 1979), Auburn, Ala., 2006 recipient;

Dr. Robert D. Simmons (LSU SVM 1977), Martinsvlle, N.J., 2007 recipient;

Dr. Debra Sellon (LSU SVM 1983), Pullman, Wash., posthumously, Dr. Mary Louise Martin (LSU SVM 1982), 2008 recipients;

Dr. William James (LSU SVM 1980), Dale City, Va., 2009 recipient;

Dr. Sherril Green (LSU SVM 1985), Palo Alto, Calif., and Dr. J. Trenton McClure (LSU SVM 1989), Charlottetown, Canada, 2010 recipients;

Dr. Rick Alleman (LSU SVM 1980), Alachua, Fla., 2011 recipient;

Dr. Thomas Tully (LSU SVM 1986), Baton Rouge, La., 2012 recipient; and

Dr. Carol Foil (LSU SVM 1978), Satsuma, Fla., 2013 recipient.

No award was given in 2014.


Photo: LSU SVM Dean Joel D. Baines presents Dr. Egeenee Daniels with the 2015 Distinguished Alumnus Award.