Criteria for Membership

Membership in the Society of Phi Zeta consists of two classifications, Active  and Honorary.  Those eligible to election as Active Members are

  • Any candidate for the DVM/VMD degree in a veterinary medical college where a chapter exists and who has completed at least two years of the professional curriculum and who meet the following requirements:
    • The candidate must have an acceptable personality, be of good moral character, and possess high ideals regarding professional services and conduct.
    • When elected in the junior or third year, students must rank scholastically in the highest 10 percent of their veterinary medical class.
  • Any veterinarian who has been in possession of a veterinary medical degree for at least two years, and who has displayed ability of high order in dealing with one or more phases of the science of veterinary medicine, and who meets one of the following criteria:
    • The candidate is enrolled as a graduate student in a college of veterinary medicine and has completed at least twenty semester (thirty quarter) hours of graduate credit or has successfully passed preliminary examinations.
    • The candidate has been engaged in an intern or residency program for at least two years or has become board certified in his/her specialty.
    • The candidate has completed two years or more on the faculty of an institution or scientific staff of a scientific institution within commuting distance of the nearest chapter of Phi Zeta and has been involved in veterinary research or service.
  • Those eligible for election as Honorary Members are:
    • Distinguished veterinarians in possession of their veterinary medical degrees for at least five years and who have rendered notable service to their profession
    • Persons not in possession of the veterinary medical degree, who have rendered distinguished service in the advancement of the science relating to the animal industry and particularly of animal diseases.
    • Only in exceptional instances shall more than two honorary members be elected by any one chapter in any one academic year.