Staff

Section Name Position Email Expertise
Administration

Udeni Balasuriya, BVSc, MS, PhD, FSLCVS

Director, LADDL, and Professor of Virology (PBS) balasuriya1@lsu.edu More than 20 years experience. Expert in molecular virology, viral pathogenesis and diagnostics.
Administration Maria Mitchell, DVM (LSU SVM 2002) Assistant Director msmitch@lsu.edu  More than 10 years experience. LADDL veterinary consultant with expertise in microbiology
Administration Alma Roy, PhD Consultant aroy@lsu.edu   
Administration Brandye Smith Quality Assurance Coordinator brandyes@lsu.edu  Quality Assurance
Administration Dee Patel Billing Coordinator dpatel10@lsu.edu   
Administration Kimberly Rooney Administrative Coordinator krooney1@lsu.edu   
Administration Jeanette Logsdon Business Office Coordinator jlogsdon@lsu.edu   
Accessioning and Receiving Steve Paroczay Accessions Coordinator sparocz@lsu.edu  Receiving
Aquatic Disease Laboratory John Hawke, PhD (LSU SVM 1996) Section Head, Professor of Veterinary Microbiology & Parasitology (PBS), and Aquatic Diagnostician jhawke1@lsu.edu  More than 30 years experience. Expertise in fish and shellfish diagnostics, treatment, and health monitoring
Clinical Pathology Laboratory Shannon Dehghanpir, DVM (LSU SVM 2013), DACVP Section Head and Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology (VCS) sdavi15@lsu.edu   
Clinical Pathology Laboratory Cindy Berry Medical Technologist cmberry@lsu.edu   
Clinical Pathology Laboratory Catherine Christensen Medical Technologist ccaugh1@lsu.edu   
Clinical Pathology Laboratory Sarah Magee Medical Technologist smagee@lsu.edu   
Clinical Pathology Laboratory Suzanne Mouch Medical Technologist smouch1@lsu.edu    
Clinical Pathology Laboratory Katie Metcalf, DVM Clinical Pathology Resident (VCS) kmetcalf1@lsu.edu     
Endocrinology Laboratory Kirk Ryan, DVM, DACVIM Section Head and Professor (VCS) karyan@lsu.edu   
Endocrinology Laboratory Frederic Gaschen, Dr.med.vet., Dr.habil., DACVIM, DECVIM VTH Clinical Service Chief and Professor (VCS) fgaschen@lsu.edu   
Endocrinology Laboratory Andrea Johnston, DVM, DACVIM Assistant Professor (VCS) johnston1@lsu.edu   
Endocrinology Laboratory Harmeet Aulakh, BVSc & AH, MVSc Assistant Professor (VCS) haulakh@lsu.edu   
Endocrinology Laboratory Frank Andrews, DVM, DACVIM  Director, Equine Health Studies Program, and Professor (VCS) fandrews@lsu.edu   
Endocrinology Laboratory Nicole Hazard Research Associate nhazard@lsu.edu      
Histology and Immunohistochemistry Laboratory Kendra Shultz Research Associate shultz11@cox.net   
Histology and Immunohistochemistry Laboratory Kayleigh Vicknair Research Associate kvick13@lsu.edu   
Information Technology Bhavesh Patel Manager, Data Processing/Computer Services bpatel10@lsu.edu   
Microbiology and Serology Laboratory Maria Mitchell, DVM (LSU SVM 2002) Section Head (Bacteriology) msmitch@lsu.edu  More than 10 years experience. LADDL veterinary consultant with expertise in microbiology
Microbiology and Serology Laboratory Nicole Hazard Research Associate (Serology) nhazard@lsu.edu   
Microbiology and Serology Laboratory Anthony Liu Research Associate (Bacteriology) sliu21@lsu.edu   
Molecular Laboratory Keith Strother Section Head kstrother@lsu.edu   
Molecular Laboratory Tarra Harden Research Associate tharde1@lsu.edu   
Molecular Laboratory Laura Peak Research Associate lpeak1@lsu.edu   
Parasitology Laboratory Ryan Avery, PhD (LSU SVM 2019) Section Head, Assistant Professor (PBS), and Parasitologist ravery3@lsu.edu   
Parasitology Laboratory Brooke Delcambre Research Associate bleibe1@lsu.edu   
Pathology Laboratory Daniel Paulsen, DVM, PhD, DACVP Section Head, Professor of Veterinary Pathology (PBS), and Anatomic Pathologist dpauls1@lsu.edu More than 30 years experience. Expert bovine diagnostician and expertise in cardiac and pulmonary pathology
Pathology Laboratory Mariano Carossino, DVM, PhD, DACVM Assistant Professor (PBS) and Anatomic Pathologist mcarossino1@lsu.edu  Expertise in viral pathogenesis and diagnostics, and molecular diagnostic test development
Pathology Laboratory Fabio Del Piero, DVM, PhD, DACVP Professor (PBS) and Anatomic Pathologist fdelpiero@lsu.edu More than 20 years experience. Internationally recognized expert in equine pathology and expertise in ruminant diagnostics
Pathology Laboratory Ingeborg Langohr, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVP Professor (PBS) and Anatomic Pathologist ilangohr@lsu.edu More than 10 years experience. Expertise in ophthalmologic pathology and pig, ruminant, and small animal diagnostics
Pathology Laboratory Blake Kitchen Necropsy Technician bkitchen1@lsu.edu    
Pathology Laboratory Eric Erwood, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident ericerwood@lsu.edu   
Pathology Laboratory Naomi Falconnier, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident nfalconnier@lsu.edu   
Pathology Laboratory Lauren Guarneri, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident  lguarneri1@lsu.edu   
Pathology Laboratory Jeongha Lee, DVM, MS Anatomic Pathology Resident jlee282@lsu.edu   
Pathology Laboratory Cesar Menk, DVM Anatomic Pathology Resident jlima3@lsu.edu   
Pathology Laboratory Marisa Pierluisi Veterinary Student Worker    
Toxicology Laboratory Peter Jowett, PhD Section Head and Toxicologist pjowett@lsu.edu  32 years experience. Expertise in analytical toxicology
Graduate Students, Visiting Scholars, and Trainees Sabrina M. Valdes Summer Scholar, DVM/PhD Program    
Graduate Students, Visiting Scholars, and Trainees Devinda Wickramasingha Graduate Student