Staff

Section Name Position Email Expertise
Administration

Dr. Udeni Balasuriya, BVSc, MS, PhD, FSLCVS

Director, Professor of Virology balasuriya1@lsu.edu More than 20 years experience. Expert in molecular virology, viral pathogenesis and diagnostics.
Administration Mara Colomb Administrative Coordinator mcolomb2@lsu.edu Business Office
Administration Steve Paroczay Accessions Coordinator sparocz@lsu.edu  Receiving
Administration Brandye Smith Quality Assurance Coordinator brandyes@lsu.edu  Quality Assurance
Administration Kara Ward Administrative Coordinator kward9@lsu.edu  Business Office
Pathology Laboratory Rudy Bauer, DVM, PhD, DACVP Associate Professor, Pathologist, and Section Head rbauer@lsu.edu More than 30 years experience. Expertise in dermatopathology and small animal and ruminant diagnostics
Pathology Laboratory Fabio Del Piero, DVM, PhD, DACVP Professor and Pathologist fdelpiero@lsu.edu More than 20 years experience. Internationally recognized expert in equine pathology and expertise in ruminant diagnostics
Pathology Laboratory Dawn Evans, DVM, DACVP Associate Professor and Pathologist devans1@lsu.edu More than 30 years experience. Expertise in dermatopathology, ophthalmologic pathology, and small animal diagnostics
Pathology Laboratory Ingeborg Langohr, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVP Associate Professor and Pathologist ilangohr@lsu.edu More than 10 years experience. Expertise in ophthalmologic pathology and pig, ruminant, and small animal diagnostics
Pathology Laboratory Daniel Paulsen, DVM, PhD, DACVP Professor of Veterinary Pathology and Pathologist dpauls1@lsu.edu More than 30 years experience. Expert bovine diagnostician and expertise in cardiac and pulmonary pathology
Pathology Laboratory Nobuko Wakamatsu-Utsuki, DVM, PhD, DACVP, DACPV Associate Professor, Pathologist, and Poultry Veterinarian nwakam1@lsu.edu  More than 10 years experience. Expert poultry and avian diagnostician and expertise in small animal diagnostics
Microbiology Laboratory Maria Mitchell, DVM (LSU SVM 2002) Section Head and Veterinarian msmitch@lsu.edu  More than 10 years experience. LADDL veterinary consultant with expertise in microbiology
Microbiology Laboratory Nicole Hazard Associate nhazard@lsu.edu  Serology/Endocrinology
Microbiology Laboratory Anthony Liu, MS (LSU SVM 2012), PhD (LSU SVM 2015) Associate sliu21@lsu.edu  Molecular Diagnostics
Molecular Laboratory Rob Poston Associate rposton@lsu.edu  Virology
Molecular Diagnostics Keith Strother, MS, PhD Section Head kstrother@lsu.edu  Molecular Diagnostics
Molecular Diagnostics Tarra Harden Associate tharde1@lsu.edu  Molecular Diagnostics
Molecular Diagnostics Laura Peak, MS Associate

lpeak1@lsu.edu

Molecular Diagnostics
Toxicology Laboratory Peter Jowett, PhD Toxicologist and Section Head pjowett@lsu.edu  32 years experience. Expertise in analytical toxicology
Aquatic Disease Laboratory John Hawke, PhD (LSU SVM 1996) Professor of Veterinary Microbiology & Parasitology, Aquatic Diagnostician, and Section Head jhawke1@lsu.edu  More than 30 years experience. Expertise in fish and shellfish diagnostics, treatment, and health monitoring
Parasitology John Malone, Jr., DVM, PhD Professor of Veterinary Parasitology and Parasitologist vtmalon@lsu.edu  More than 30 years of experience. Expert in parasitology and epidemiology