University College Spring Awards 2017

LSU University College presented its annual “Celebration of Excellence” Spring Awards program on Thursday, March 23, at The Club on Union Square. The college awarded $80,000 through 65 undergraduate student scholarships, five LSU faculty teaching awards, two graduate teaching assistant awards and one LSU Advisor of the Year Award.

“Two important components of student retention are the opportunities to reward students for their academic achievements and to recognize outstanding teaching in the classroom. University College is pleased to have generous donors that allow us to offer scholarships to students who have demonstrated a commitment to their college studies and for us to acknowledge some of LSU’s outstanding undergraduate faculty with teaching awards,” said Paul Ivey, executive director of LSU University College. “Our ‘Celebration of Excellence’ ceremony allows us the opportunity to publicly recognize these young scholars and deserving faculty.”

University College salutes all of these deserving individuals and expresses our gratitude to donors for their continued support.


LSU University College Scholarships

Vincent E. Cangelosi Scholarship

Daniel J. Langen – Haughton, La.

King-Sollberger Endowed Scholarship

Michael C. Hom – Metairie, La.

Anthony J. Losavio Scholarship

Reid B. Sellars – Maringouin, La.

Josephine R. Losavio Scholarship

Chloe A. Argueta – Toms River, La.

Dr. Keon Anderson Minority Health Professions Scholarship

Jennifer Saulny – New Orleans, La.

Dr. Aiyanna Anderson Minority Health Professions Scholarship

Ashara Grimes – Hammond, La.

Dabadie Family Scholarship

Bradford McGee – Baton Rouge, La.

Melissa Dillon-Dotson Scholarship

Justin Guillory – Lake Charles, La.

Lonnie J. and Carol S. Dore Family Scholarship

Bailey Jarreau – Jarreau, La.
Landon St. Angelo – Denham Springs, La.

Dr. Christopher M. and Julie M. Foret Scholarship

Rupert Breland – Bogalusa, La.

Dr. Gerald L. & Gayle W. Foret Scholarship

Emily Addington – Doyline, La.
Blake Degioanni – Mandeville, La.
Tayler Pierre – Ama, La.
Julia Roane – Baton Rouge, La.

Nona Mack Haynes Scholarship

Nationa Young – Opelousas, La.

Elayn Hunt Memorial Scholarship

Riley Reynolds – New Orleans, La.

Robin McMillan Scholarship

Amber Anderson – Baton Rouge, La.

Charles and Betty Odom Memorial Scholarship

Nicholas Williams – Slidell, La.

Dr. Mahlon P. Poche, Jr. Scholarship

Phillip A. Gerarve – Harahan, La.
Kevin Patrick Quinn, Jr. – Roswell, Ga.

Don Redden Sophomore Endowed Scholarship

Dylan Bieber – Church Point, La.

Ryan Paul Shannon Memorial Scholarship

Rachael Poissenot – Metairie, La.
Emily Virgets – Metairie, La.

Glenda W. Streva Allied Health Scholarship

Zachary Gibbons – Youngsville, La.
Jessica Indest – New Iberia, La.

University College Athletic Department Endowed Scholarship

Mario Macaluso – Chalpin, Sc.
Brittany Miller – The Woodlands, Texas
Claude Pertuit – Loranger, La.
Mary Wiemer – Spring, Texas
Samuel Wempe – Houston, Texas

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Sophomore Award

Justin Clifton – Stonewall, La.

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Scholarship

Kandyl Barras – Denham Springs, La.
Cameron Bernard – Marrero, La.
Kayla Chacon – Westwego, La.
Rachel Collignon – Slidell, La.
Lauren Collins – Baker, La.
Blair Colowich – Baton Rouge, La.
Gloria Foret – Houma, La.
Kelli Gallardo – Chalmette, La.
Nicole Johnson – Gonzales, La.
Kryslyn Johnston – New Orleans, La.
Brittany Kallio – Baton Rouge, La.
Courtney Kendall – Slidell, La.
Bryce Kerr – Baton Rouge, La.
Elizabeth Knowles – Harahan, La.
Myles Kuss – Metairie, La.
My-Chae May – Baton Rouge, La.
Emily McAdam – River Ridge, La.
Harrison Millar – Metairie, La.
Kirby Moore – Baton Rouge, La.
Logan Olson – Lake Charles, La.
Bailey Osburn – Metairie, La.
Blake Perilloux – Destrehan, La.
Trey Poirrier – Geismer, La.
Isabelle Riche – Pineville, La.
Sydney Roberts – Denham Springs, La.
Addyson Smith – Alexandria, La.
Lydia Smith – Slaughter, La.
Breanna Savant – Morgan City, La.
Amy Stelly – Washington, La.
Hayden Tageant – Mandeville, La.
Ashton Wascom – Deridder, La.
Breanna Williams – Great Lakes, Ill.
Brianna Witchen – Metairie, La.

LSU Faculty Teaching Awards

George H. Deer Distinguished Teaching Award

Roxanne K. Dill, LSU Manship School of Mass Communication

Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award

Vicki Davis, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences, Department of English
Joshua Fallon, LSU College of Science, Department of Mathematics

LSU Advisor of the Year

Jessica Aslin, LSU University College, Center for Advising & Counseling

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award

Chantel D. Chauvin, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences, Department of Sociology
Belinda C. Davis, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences, Department of Political Science
Kandace T. Hurst, LSU College of Science, Department of Chemistry
James V. Moroney, LSU College of Science, Department of Biological Sciences

The LSU University College Scholarship Selection Committee included Marvin Borgmeyer, Sarah Clayton, Julie Foret and LeVar K. James.

The LSU University College Teaching Award Selection Committee included Marybeth Lima, chair; Marvin Borgmeyer; Sarah Clayton; Jamie Granier; Gregory D. Inman; Anna Sightler: and Beverly Brooks Thompson.

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award recipients are nominated by LSU students enrolled in University College.

Since 1933, LSU University College has served as the portal of entry for students enrolled at LSU. Academic and personal success is the hallmark of a well-rounded student, and University College provides a foundation of support services for students beginning their academic careers at LSU. University College has two enrollment divisions: The Center for Freshman Year and The Center for Advising and Counseling.  Additionally, University College offers retention-specific programs: Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Research Scholars and Summer Scholars.  These academic support programs focus on particular student populations and are a significant part of the role and mission of University College.