

Faculty Senate Executive Committee Meeting 10am, 2 October 2023 251 Music and Dramatic Arts Building

#### **Approved Minutes of the Meeting**

#### Attendance:

**Present:** Inessa Bazayev (President), Daniel Tirone (Vice-President), Parampreet Singh (Secretary), Kyla Kazuschyk (Member-at-Large), Kevin Ringelman (Member-at-Large), Michelle Osborn (Member-at-Large)

**Absent:** Mandi Lopez (Past President)

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee convened at 10:02 am on Oct 2, 2023, at 251 Music and Dramatic Arts Building in the LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. There were no public comments. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted unanimously following a motion by Ringelman.

In her updates President Bazayev mentioned that Edward Shihadeh and Parampreet Singh have agreed to serve on the Research Security committee led by Associate Vice President Steve Beck. Bazayev will attend two conferences as a fellow of the SEC leadership program. The first one is in two weeks in Texas A&M University and the second is scheduled in February in University of Missouri. In a recent meeting with Associate Vice President of Budget and Planning Tommy Smith, Bazayev raised issue of insignificant raises in faculty salaries when compared to the total budget. Bazyev met with Enrollment Management Vice President Danny Barrow and mentioned complaints from faculty and students on the way enrollment is executed. An executive committee is being planned to address various issues. Bazayev and Vice President Tirone met with Senior Vice Provost Jane Cassidy on the formation of a committee to handle procedures on overcoming AAUP censures. Bazyev has been informed by HR that due to an executive action by the Louisiana Governor J B Edwards, state employees will be allowed a parental leave of 6 weeks starting Jan 2024. Bazayev is expected to meet with the Parking Office on issues related to parking including the problems faced by faculty and staff in Patrick F Taylor Hall. Bazayev informed that University Registrar has reached out for inputs on the calendar for the next academic year.

The committee then discussed the broadcast email to faculty for October. This would include President's report, what every faculy member should know, and links to presentations on guidance on minutes of the meeting from Robert's rules and the progress report of ad hoc FS IT committee.

The next item of business was discussion on alternates on senate committees. The committee members discussed pros and cons of allowing alternates. Ringelman moved that the policy committee review the committee operating guidelines for all standing and ad hoc committees and recommend

improvements. Passed by majority vote with Tirone abstaining.

The committee then discussed Research Security Committee. Tirone moved to appoint Edward Shihadeh and Parampreet Singh. Passed unanimously.

The next item on the agenda was appointments to various standing and ad hoc committees. Tirone moved to approve the slate (attached in the appendix) put forward by committee on committees with the exception of Faculty Appeals Board. Passed unanimously. Singh moved to approve Thomas Douthat for the FS IT committee. Passed unanimously. Tirone moved to authorize Bazayev to come up with a slate of candidates for election to various committees in the next Faculty Senate meeting. Passed unanimously.

The committee then discussed collaboration with Office of Academic Affairs (OAA) on overcoming AAUP censures and enrollment management. Tirone moved to authorize Bazayev to work with OAA to form committees addressing these matters. Passed unanimously.

The committee then discussed the draft agenda of October Faculty Senate meeting. Ringelman moved to approve the agenda. Passed unanimously.

Tirone moved to suspend the agenda so that committee could discuss What Every Faculty Member Should Know from September Faculty Senate meeting. Passed unanimously. Kazuschyk moved to approve the above document. Passed unanimously.

The next item on agenda was discussion on Renewable Natural Resources Building undergoing renovations.. The relocation is happening with a very short timeline causing many hardships to faculty, staff and students. Tirone moved to authorize Bazayev to bring this issue to the attention of OAA for a resolution. Passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:43 am following a motion by Ringelman. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Parampreet Singh, Secretary

## Appendix

# FS Standing Committee Membership Appointments

#### **ASH:**

Suzanna Stauffer	Human Sciences & Education
John Church	Law
Len Apcar	Mass Communication
Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine
Mirabel Dietz	<b>Humanities &amp; Social Sciences</b>
Lauren Cardenas	Art & Design

## **Benefits Advisory:**

Louay Mohammad	Engineering
Clay Jones, HRM	Ex-officio member

#### **DEI (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion):**

Hallie Dozier	Agriculture
Nicollette M. Davis	Libraries
Nadia Alzoqari	Undergraduate Student

#### **Enrollment**:

Lindsay Barleycorn	Agriculture
Roberto Champney	Engineering
Sonya Cooke	Music & Dramatic Arts
Seungwon Yang	Human Sciences & Education (HS&E)
Felicity Reynolds	Undergraduate Student

### **Integrative Learning Core (ILC):**

Jason Wolfe	Humanities & Social Sciences (Humanities)
David Chicoine	Humanities & Social Sciences (Sociology/Behavioral)
Jahi Palmer	Student (Ex-officio)

### Internationalization:

Oliver Crocco	Human Sciences and Education
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture
Achim Herrmann	Science
Mike Kaller	Agriculture
Andrew Becnel	Engineering
Dana Hollie	Business
Fabio Ribeiro	Art & Design

### **Press**:

Andrew Sluyter	Humanities & Social Sciences
----------------	------------------------------