Courses and Curricula Committee

 

Charges

  • To approve or disapprove, after review to determine the best interest of the students and the University, proposed additions to, alterations of, and elimination of all courses, curricula, and degree programs submitted by colleges and schools, or referred by the Office of Academic Affairs.
  • To notify the appropriate departments and colleges and the Office of Academic Affairs regarding all decisions reached by the committee and to make recommendations concerning needed clarification, coordination, or study of the implications of proposed changes.
  • To consult, when deemed appropriate, with departments which appear to be affected by proposed changes in courses and curricula; departments may appeal decisions made by the committee; if the appeal is supported by the college curriculum committee, the matter shall be sent directly to the Faculty Senate for final determination and placed on the Agenda of the Faculty Senate for the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Senate, and
  • To conduct on its own initiative continuing studies of courses and curricula, and to make recommendations to departments concerned and to the Executive Vice President and Provost changes which appear to be desirable and which appear to require study by specific departments concerned or by special committees appointed for the purpose.

Membership

Eleven experienced faculty (no more than two from any college or school); one undergraduate student; one graduate student; chair of the General Education Committee, ex officio. The Office of Academic Affairs will provide administrative assistance at the request of the committee. (“Experienced” is defined as having had one or more years of active participation on a department, school, or college curriculum committee.)

 

For more information including meeting schedule and minutes, please visit the Courses and Curricula Committee page on the Office of the University Registrar website and PS-45 Courses and Curricula.

 

Member College Email Term Ends
Lynne Baggett Art and Design lbagge2@lsu.edu  2022
Amanda Benson Human Sciences and Education abenson@lsu.edu   2022
John Hopkins (Chair) Science chhopk@lsu.edu  2022
Ayman Okeil Engineering aokeil@lsu.edu  2022
James Ottea Agriculture jottea@agctr.lsu.edu   2022
Larry Smolinsky Science smolinsk@math.lsu.edu  2022
Edward Benoit Human Sciences and Education ebenoit@lsu.edu  2023
Gary Sanger Business sanger@lsu.edu  2023
Dottie Vaughn Science vaughn@math.lsu.edu  2023
Chao Wang Engineering chaowang@lsu.edu  2023
Catherine Lemieux Human Sciences and Education clemieu@lsu.edu  2024
Michael Henderson Mass Communications mbhende1@lsu.edu  2024
Isabelina Nahmens Engineering nahmens@lsu.edu  Alternate, 2024
Pamela Pike Music & Dramatic Arts pdpike@lsu.edu  2024
Robert Rohli Oceanography & Coastal Sciences rohli@lsu.edu  2024
Lawrence Rouse Coast and Environment lrouse@lsu.edu  2024
Heidi Banse Veterinary Medicine hbanse1@lsu.edu  2025
Lauren Coats Humanities and Social Sciences lac@lsu.edu  2025
Leonard Ray Humanities and Social Sciences lray2@lsu.edu  2025
Josephine Hanegan Undergraduate Student Representative jhaneg2@lsu.edu  Ex officio
Adam Dohrenwend Graduate Student Representative adohre2@lsu.edu  Ex officio
Jackie Bach (EX-OFFICIO) Office of Academic Affairs jbach@lsu.edu  Ex officio 
  General Education Committee Chair   Ex officio