Honoring Scholarship


College Hosts 2017 Choppin Honors Convocation

The College of Science hosted its 42nd annual Dean Arthur R. Choppin Honors Convocation at the Club at Union Square on Thursday, April 19.  More than 20 students and eight faculty were recognized during the event.

The convocation is held in honor of the late Arthur R. Choppin, professor of chemistry and dean of the LSU College of Chemistry and Physics.  Choppin oversaw the conversion of the basic sciences at LSU from a teacher-centered unit to one that promoted research among its faculty and students. This event is a befitting tribute to Choppin's legacy of scholarship and research and is made possible by gifts made in Choppin's honor through the LSU Foundation and the scholarship fund of the Louisiana Department of the American Legion.

Faculty Awards

  • Dr. Jeremy Brown (Biological Sciences), Non-Tenured Faculty Research Award
  • Dr. Promad Achar (Mathematics), Graduate Teaching Award
  • Dr. Robert Cook (Chemistry), TAF Undergraduate Teaching Award
  • Dr. Kenneth Lopata (Chemistry), TAF Undergraduate Teaching Award
  • Dr. Cameron Thrash (Biological Sciences), TAF Undergraduate Teaching Award
  • Dr. Hollie Hale-Donze (Biological Sciences), TAF Undergraduate Teaching Award
  • Dr. Dalgis Mesa (Physics & Astronomy), TAF Undergraduate Teaching Award
  • Dr. Julia Ledet (Mathematics), TAF Undergraduate Teaching Award

Distinguished Dissertation Award

  • Dr. Justin Hayles Geology & Geophysics

Student Awards

College of Science

  • Logan Christopher Kinamore, College of Science Outstanding Senior Award
  • Derek M. Walker, College of Science Outstanding Junior Award
  • Celine Angela Jeha, College of Science Outstanding Sophomore Award
  • Ajah Z. Williams, Science Residential College Distinguished Student Award

Department of Biological Sciences

  • Glynn Auburn O’Neill, Undergraduate Research Award
  • Jacob Kenneth Meariman, Outstanding Senior in Biochemistry Award
  • Todd Christian Veal, Robert L. Amborski Award
  • Meredith Leigh Gioe, Charles S. McCleskey Award in Microbiology
  • Candice Barwick Foster, Outstanding GeauxTeach Student Award

Department of Chemistry

  • Sarah Annette Hahn, Dr. Benjamin Pierre Boussert Outstanding Student Award
  • Blake Peter Kruger, Outstanding Undergraduate Research Achievement Award
  • Kaylee Theresa Woodard, Outstanding Undergraduate Research Achievement Award
  • Alana Brooke Butterfield, Outstanding Chemistry Geaux Teach Student Award

Department of Geology & Geophysics

  • Andrew William Osborne, Outstanding Sophomore in Geology & Geophysics
  • Kate Rose Gutterman, Outstanding Junior in Geology & Geophysics
  • Hunter Stephen Songy, Outstanding Senior in Geology & Geophysics

Department of Mathematics

  • John Everett Moser, Betti & Robert Giles Senior Mathematics Award
  • Matthew J. Bertucci, Pasquale Porcelli Undergraduate Mathematics Award for Rising Senior
  • Chandler Brent McArthur, William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition High Score Award
  • Kimberly Lynne Key, Margaret Oxley Mathematics Education Award

Department of Physics & Astronomy

  • Simón Gabriel Lorenzo, Keen-Morris Award
  • Irene Vargas-Salazar, Keen-Morris Award


Top photo: Blake Peter Kruger, recipient of the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Achievement Award in the Department of Chemistry; Alana Brooke Butterfield, recipient of the Outstanding Chemistry Geaux Teach Student Award, Dr. Cameron Thrash, recipient of the TAF Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award; and Simón Gabriel Lorenzo, recipient of the Keen-Morris Award in the Department of Physics & Astronomy

click here to view convocation photos