Past Spotlights 

2017 Benjamin P. Boussert Lecture


On Friday, October 6th, Dr. Emory Chan delivered an elegant lecture titled, “High-Throughput Design of Doped Colloidal Nanocrystals.” He explained the energy transfer pathways of lanthanide-doped upconverting nanoparticles and we learned about the combinatorial synthesis of these carefully designed nanoparticles, using robots called WANDA and HERMAN.

Read More..


Celebrating 20 Years of ChemDemo


 In Fall of 1997, Professors George Stanley and Pat Limbach began sending LSU students out into the community to teach a thematic set of scientific concepts to a class in a local school.  The lessons featured exciting, hands-on demonstrations … and so was born ChemDemo. 



Kenneth lopata - 2017 DOE early career awardee


Assistant Professor Ken Lopata has received an Early Career Award from the US Department of Energy (DOE). This program, now in its eighth year, supports the development of individual research programs of outstanding scientists, at universities and national laboratories, early in their careers and stimulates research careers in the disciplines supported by the DOE Office of Science. The grant is for $750,000 for a period of 5 years, starting September 2017, from the Basic Energy Sciences Division..

Read More... 


Mario Rivera joins LSU


 Following a nationwide search over the past couple of years, we are delighted to announce that Professor Mario Rivera will be joining LSU Chemistry in Spring 2018. He will be the inaugural William A. Pryor Chair in Chemistry. The chair honors the legacy of Professor Pryor’s research in the field of oxidative biology and free radicals. The primary criterion for the chair is that research interests lie at the interface of chemistry, biology and medicine, with clear relevance to human health.



Super Science Saturday 


Super Science Saturday (SSS) is a free Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education event for students in kindergarten to 12th grade, parents, and anyone interested in seeing science in action. SSS is sponsored by LSU Chemistry, the Baton Rouge local section of the American Chemical Society (ACS), and LSU Athletics.




Chemistry Senior Carson Szot featured by COS Pursuit blog 

Carson Szot

Carson Szot featured by COS Pursuit blog



Emeritus Faculty Lunch

Emeritus Lunch

On Thursday, August 3rd, College of Science Dean, Cynthia Peterson, hosted a “lunch and learn" for emeritus and retired faculty. The event was held at the new LSU Foundation Center for Philanthropy on Nicholson Drive. The meeting was well-attended, with Chemistry proudly outnumbering the other departments. Over lunch, Dean Peterson introduced herself and shared the video of her TEDxLSU talk from earlier in the year titled “Science and All That Jazz”.


2017 ATCC Photo Contest


Zehua Zhou’s winner image of the 2017 ATCC Photo Contest, which shows human HEp2 cells co-stained with endoplasmic reticulum (ER) tracker and a BODIPY synthesized in my laboratory by former PhD student Ning Zhao (graduated with PhD in December 2016, co-advised by Vicente and Smith).




Emanuel Waddell


2017 National President of NOBCChE




Dr. Claude J. Davis


Principal Scientist and Brand Ambassador at Zatarain’s in New Orleans, LA




LSU chemistry department develops fingerprint sampling technology

murray fingerprints

Murray Group  develops fingerprint sampling technology




 LSU 2017 Spring Commencement



Graduates and their decorated caps: Elora Doskey, Sarah Hahn and Rebecca Moore



LSU College of Science Salutes 2017 Hall of Distinction Honorees



The LSU College of Science will induct four new members into its Hall of Distinction. This year’s class includes LSU Professor Emeritus in Geology & Geophysics Jeffrey Hanor, LSU Professor Emeritus in Chemistry Neil Kestner, LSU alumnus and NASA research scientist Donald Kniffen, and Director Emerita of LSU’s Center for Academic Success and retired chemistry professor Saundra McGuire.This year’s class includes LSU Professor Emeritus in Geology & Geophysics Jeffrey Hanor, LSU Professor Emeritus in Chemistry Neil Kestner, LSU alumnus and NASA research scientist Donald Kniffen, and Director Emerita of LSU’s Center for Academic Success and retired chemistry professor Saundra McGuire.


A Celebration of the Contributions of the Coates Family 


After much planning and anticipation, members of the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Physics & Astronomy, the Cain Department of Chemical Engineering and the LSU Graduate School gathered with descendants of Dean Charles E. Coates (1886-1939) for a special celebration on Thursday, March 16th, 2017.


Rainmaker Awards



Each Spring, LSU’s Office of Research & Economic Development, in collaboration with the Campus Federal Credit Union and the Council on Research selects “rainmakers” at three different career stages. There are parallel awards... 


Silver and Gold: Using Lasers and Nanoparticles to Improve Drug Delivery



Visiting Louis Haber’s lab in the Department of Chemistry at LSU is like visiting a neighborhood lit up for the holidays. In the lab, a long table is adorned with hundreds of small metal stands holding mirrors of various shapes. Laser beams bend their way around the table like reflections...


December 2016 Graduates 


On December 16th, 7 BS, 2 MS Graduates and 10 PhD graduates of our Department were honored at a morning ceremony in the Maddox Fieldhouse. The commencement speaker was Boyd Professor Isiah M. Warner. Professor John Pojman represented the LSU Graduate Council, awarding all graduate level degrees.


Boussert Lecture


On Friday, September 23rd, the Department of Chemistry hosted the 2016 Benjamin Pierre Boussert Lecture. The lecture was delivered by Professor Delia Milliron of the University of Texas at Austin. Delia and Benjamin were graduate students together in the Alivisatos Laboratory at UC Berkeley.


Dr. Saundra McGuire's receives an Award from the ACS - Congratulations!


In recognition of her work and the thousands of students she has impacted, McGuire has been awarded the 2017 American Chemical Society, or ACS, Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences, sponsored by the Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation.


Featured Publications of 2015-16


2015-2016 Publications from the department of Chemistry at Louisiana State University


Barry Dellinger -Obituary


LSU Chemistry mourns the passing of Harold Barry Dellinger, Professor Emeritus.



Undergraduate Spotlight

View Spotlight

Graduate Spotlight

View spotlight


Contact Us

232 Choppin Hall
Phone: 225-578-3361
Fax: 225-578-3458


Find Us On