Congratulations to December Graduates from LSU Chemistry! 

On December 16th, 7 BS, 2 MS Graduates and 10 PhD graduates of our Department were honored at a morning ceremony in the Maddox Fieldhouse. The commencement speaker was Boyd Professor Isiah M. Warner. Professor John Pojman represented the LSU Graduate Council, awarding all graduate level degrees.

Arturo Carranza and John Pojman

Dr. Arturo Carranza and John Pojman

Bachelor of Science: Lawrence (Robbie) Aitken, Amanda Burns, Nicole Falgoust, Cody Leegwater (CxC Distinguished Communicator), Michael Mathews, Jessica Nelson and
Heidi Olivier

Master of Science: Benjamin Haywood (Cook Group) and Jacob Stepherson (Kartika Group)

Doctor of Philosophy: Arturo Carranza (Pojman Group; co-advisor Dr. Josue Mota-morales), Rachel Deese (Cook Group), Ciera Duronslet (Stanley Group), Ang Li (Zhang Group), Troy Loeffler (Chen Group), Ugwumsinachi (Godwin) Nwosu (Cook Group), Bolaji Olatinwo (Butler Group), Kiara Taylor-Edinbyrd (first graduate of the Kumar Group), Sunting Xuan (Zhang and Vicente Groups) and Ning Zhao (Vicente and Smith Groups).

Arturo Carranza is the 2016 recipient of the Coates Outstanding Dissertation Award in Chemistry, which is supported by the Charles E. Coates Memorial Fund. Dr. Carranza completed his dissertation in John Pojman's laboratory and graduated in December 2016. His dissertation is titled "Deep-Eutectic Solvents As Delivery Vehicles in the Synthesis of Non-Aqueous High Internal Phase Emulsion Templated Functional Macroporous Nanocomposites and their Application as Selective Fuel Sorbents and Tissue Scaffolds. His research in the Pojman group has already resulted in 10 publications, including seven based on the research in his dissertation. Arturo completed his undergraduate studies at the University of the Ozarks and is a native of El Salvador.