Graduate Student Awards 

Each Spring Semester, the Department recognizes the achievements of graduate students who have excelled in research or teaching, or both.  We have several research awards, as detailed below, that were expanded in scope and value in 2018 thanks to the generous donations of Dr. H. Dupont Durst (LSU BS 1965, MS 1967).  There is a Graduate Student Awards Ceremony in late April and a reception that follows.  We also announce and celebrate the LSU Chemistry Outstanding Staff Award at this time.

2018 Award Winners

2018 Graduate Award Winners

Back row:  Asela Kikkumbura, Adam Bruner, Thenahandi Deepthi De Silva, Yaowen Cui, Caitlin Bresnahan, Gerard Ducharme, Chien-Hung Chiang, Himali Kokila Ranasinghe, Albert Chao. Front row:  Fatimat Badmus, Bijay Banstola, Nimisha Bhattarai, Kylee Fazende.

The Director of Graduate Studies (DGS) calls for research award nominations in February.  The deadline for nominations is mid-March.  Most nominations consist of:

  • A nomination letter from the student’s graduate advisor;
  • A supporting letter from another faculty member;
  • A brief CV (similar to what is required for annual graduate student reports each May);
  • A one page summary of the student’s research to-date (similar to what is required for annual graduate student reports each May).

Typically, five Outstanding TA Awards are made by the Director of Undergraduate Laboratories, in consultation with the faculty who teach laboratory classes.  These are supported by the donations of alumni and friends to the Chemistry Development Fund.

Previous Winners: