2020 Distinguished Research Master and Rainmakers Selected

LSU Office of Research & Economic Development, or ORED, announces the Distinguished Research Masters and Rainmakers for 2020-21.

Every year, ORED honors two accomplished faculty as Distinguished Research Masters. LSU Department of Mathematics’ Nicholson Professor Robert Lipton and LSU Department of French Studies Professor Pius Ngandu have been selected. A virtual event featuring talks by this year’s Distinguished Research Masters will be held on April 7. Event details to follow.

In partnership with Campus Federal Credit Union, the Council on Research and ORED have selected six LSU faculty who are at the early, middle and senior stages of their careers. This year’s recipients are emerging scholars LSU Manship School of Mass Communication Associate Professor Nathan Kalmoe and LSU Cain Department of Chemical Engineering’s Gordon A. & Mary Cain Professor Christopher Arges; mid-career scholars LSU Department of English Associate Professor Benjamin Kahan and LSU Department of Biological Sciences Associate Professor Maheshi Dassanayake; and senior scholars LSU Department of Geography & Anthropology’s Carl O. Sauer Professor Craig E. Colten and LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy Professor Rongying Jin. An event to celebrate the past two year’s Rainmakers will be held later this year.